Subject Guides: Post-Graduation Resources for Public/Nonprofit/Health Administration: Home

Post-Graduation Resources for Public/Nonprofit/Health Administration: Home

You've graduated! But now where can you go for information? Look no further!

Library Services for Alumni

Library Services Lost:

You will no longer be able to access full-text journal articles in many of the databases to which the library subscribes.

Library Services You Still Have:

If you live in the Grand Rapids area, you may still visit the GVSU Libraries, use our computer lab, and check out books. Your loan period will be 4 weeks, and you may have 10 items checked out at one time. More policies can be found here.

How to Stay Informed

Catalog of Nonprofit Literature This link opens in a new window
"Entries . . . represent the literature on philanthropy, the foundation world, the nonprofit sector particularly works on such topics as fundraising and proposal development and works related to charitable giving, including project reports, studies, and statistical analyses. They cover works on theory, philosophy, and workings of domestic and international philanthropy as well as histories of individual foundations. Literature on all aspects of company-sponsored foundations and corporate giving is included, as are materials related to the nonprofit sector, its composition, administration, and management. Included are publications that discuss the impact of government policies and funding upon the sector and the legal and tax implications of local, state, and federal regulation and legislation. Voluntarism and revenue generating activities of nonprofits are also covered." Updated annually. For more information, see The Literature of the Nonprofit Sector--Contents

National Healthcare Quality Report
National Institute of Health Directory of Listserv Discussion Groups
Over 1,000 discussion lists from the National Institute of Health.
Political Science Resources
This gateway is a meta-index of Internet sites for users interested in politics and political science.
RSS Feeds from the Center for Disease Control

Open Access Journals and Reports

Government Information

Census Data
Demographic and economic information, data, and maps from U.S. Federal decennial censuses and the American Community Survey.
Child Welfare Information Gateway
City Code Library
Good source for local policies throughout the U.S.
ERIC - Education Resource Information Center
FDSYS - Federal Digital System
Government hearings, reports, public and private laws, the Federal Register and the U.S Code.
Free Public Records Resource
This site is designed to help you find property, criminal, court, birth, death, marriage, divorce records, licenses, deeds, mortgages, corporate records, business registration, and many other public record resources quickly, easily, and for free. Take note that more advanced searching on this site does ask for a fee.
GovTrack.us: Tracking the U.S. Congress
GovTrack.us is a free tool which lets you track the activities of the U.S. Congress.
Information on Drugs & Alcohol

National Criminal Justice Reference Service (NCJRS) This link opens in a new window
Summaries of the more than 195,000 criminal justice, juvenile justice, and substance abuse resources housed in the NCJRS Library collection.

OpenSecrets
"Your guide to the money in American elections."
SAMHSA Guide to Evidence-Based Practices
SAMHSA's National Registry of Evidence-based Programs and Practices (NREPP)
The White House
Congress.gov
Congress.gov offers full-text searching for bills and resolutions from 1989 to the current Congress, bill summary and status from 1973 to present, and full-text committee reports from 1995 to present.
U.S. House of Representatives
United States Senate

Institutes & Think Tanks

American Enterprise Institute For Public Policy
AEI research covers economics and trade; social welfare; government tax, spending, regulatory, and legal policies; U.S. politics; international affairs; and U.S. defense and foreign policies.
Brookings Institute
Independent policy research institute
Cato Institute
Nonprofit policy research institute
Economic Policy Institute
Idealist
Links to 16,000 nonprofit sites and other resources.
Institute For Government Innovation
Research on innovative government initiatives.
National Center For Policy Analysis
Nelson A. Rockefeller Institute Of Government
Center for the study of state government.
RAND
Free online research reports, commentary and reprints on topics covering population & aging, child policy, health & healthcare, and substance abuse.
Rural Policy Research Institute
Santa Fe Institute
The Foundation Center
The nation's leading authority on institutional philanthropy
Urban Institute
Economic and social policy research organization.

Free Research Databases

Google Books
Google Public Data
Provides a few data resources like OECD, World Bank, United Nations and U.S. Census.

Google Scholar This link opens in a new window
When off campus, be sure to login to Google Scholar from the Library's website to directly access GVSU resources and set your Scholar Preferences to include Grand Valley State University.

The Henry J. Kaiser Family Foundation
The Kaiser Foundation website offers a wealth of information on health care policy and reform with fact sheets, statistics, tutorials, polls, maps and reports.
Pew Charitable Trusts Resource Library
The Pew Charitable Trusts seek to 1.) Improve Public Policy; 2.) Inform the Public; 3.) Stimulate Civic Life.
PubMed Central
National Institute of Health (NIH) repository for peer-reviewed primary research reports in the life sciences.
World Bank Data Catalog
Freely available international economic, environmental and social data provided by the World Bank.

Statistical Websites

Grant Resources

Subjects: Public, Nonprofit and Health Administration

Tags: health_administration, public_administration

Last Updated: Mar 2, 2023 2:07 PM
URL: https://libguides.gvsu.edu/SPNHAgraduates

University Libraries

More research tools: