Menu

University Libraries

Communications Faculty Guide to the Library: Home

School of Communications

GVSU websites

Welcome!

I am the librarian for the School of Communications. I work with you to:

  • choose materials for the University Libraries to support the School
  • develop and revise curriculum, achieve accreditation/re-accreditation, and engage in strategic planning
  • teach sessions on library-based research in your courses or provide resources via Blackboard, and consult with students individually or in groups
  • keep you informed about issues pertaining to scholarly publishing, copyright, plagiarism, and library developments
  • consult about your research or creative scholarship
  • resolve issues with Course Reserve and Document Delivery (a.k.a. interlibrary loan)
  • have your scholarship celebrated at the annual Author Recognition reception

Library Services for Faculty & Staff

If you have any suggestions, please email me.

News

New databases Fall 2016:

  • Archives of Human Sexuality and Gender: LGBTQ History & Culture since 1940 (primary sources from Canadian Lesbian & Gay Archives, GLBT Historical Society, Michigan State University, New York Public Library, Lesbian Herstory Educational Foundation, etc.)
  • Independent Voices (alternative/radical press collection from both far left & right)
  • Women's Magazine Archive (Better Homes and Gardens, Chatelaine, Good Housekeeping, Ladies' Home Journal, Parents, and Redbook, 1890's-2005, includes full-color advertisements)
  • Naxos Music Library: Jazz
  • African American Newspapers (increased coverage)
  • Early American Newspapers (increased coverage)

Larivière V, Haustein S, Mongeon P (2015) The Oligopoly of Academic Publishers in the Digital Era. PLoS ONE 10(6): e0127502. doi:10.1371/journal.pone.0127502

In 2013, 51% of Social Sciences & Humanities articles are published by journals that belong to 5 commercial publishers: Elsevier, Taylor & Francis, Wiley-Blackwell, Springer, & Sage; their papers obtain a lower impact. These companies increase their subscription rates annually & have profit margins ranging from 25-40%. GVSU pays faculty salaries while we research, and then has to buy back our research through journal subscriptions. Consider open-access models instead. We provide funds!

Subject Guide

Kim Ranger
Contact:
240 Mary Idema Pew Library, Grand Valley State University, Allendale, MI 49401, U.S.A.
Office hours: M-F 9:00-5:00; or by appt
(Hablo español)
1-616-331-2633
Website / Blog Page