Last Updated: Apr 30, 2013
These databases are great for cellular & molecular biology topics. If you are having trouble finding what you need in the databases on this guide, please contact Abby for suggestions and assistance.
- BIOSIS Previews
BIOSIS Previews covers almost every life sciences topic. This database searches scholarly journals articles, reports, reviews, meetings, patents & book content. 1926-Present.
PubMed is a highly respected, free biomedical database providing access to scholarly journal articles. Most helpful for those biology topics that involve medical/health issues. 1948-present.
- ACS Publications
Full text access to scholarly journal articles published by the American Chemical Society. There is a quite a bit of overlap with cellular & molecular biology topics. 1879-present.
Provides access to 5 CAS (Chemical Abstracts Service) databases and MEDLINE. Search by research topic, author name, substance identifier, molecular structure, or chemical reaction. Millions of reactions and predicted & experimental properties.
These databases are multidisciplinary, which means they should contain information for almost any topic. If you aren't finding what you need in the databases, contact Sarah for assistance.
- Web of Science
This is a great multi-disciplinary database. It searches scholary journals in the sciences, social sciences, and arts & humanities.
Partial full text for Elsevier journals covering science, technology and medicine. Coverage in some cases back to 1823.
- Academic Search Premier
Academic Search Premier covers most subjects and searches for newspaper & magazine articles in addition to more scholarly articles available in journals.