Chemical SafetyCompound DatabasesOrganic ChemistrySpectra
ACS Publications & RefWorksPubMed & RefWorks
This is the "Databases" page of the "Chemistry" guide.
Alternate Page for Screenreader Users
Skip to Page Navigation
Skip to Page Content

Chemistry  

Last Updated: Apr 30, 2013 URL: http://libguides.gvsu.edu/chemistry Print Guide RSS UpdatesShareThis

Databases Print Page
  Search: 
 

Chemistry Databases

These databases are great for chemistry topics.  If you are having trouble finding what you need in the databases on this guide, please contact Abby for suggestions and assistance.

  • ACS Publications
    This resource provides access to full-text scholarly journal articles published by the American Chemical Society. Most articles are available in both HTML and PDF format. 1879-present.
  • Web of Science
    This is a great multi-disciplinary database. It searches scholary journals in the sciences, social sciences, and arts & humanities.
  • SciFinder  
      
    Provides access to scholarly journal articles in chemistry, molecular biology and biomedical sciences. Search by research topic, author name, substance identifier, chemical structure, or chemical reaction. Millions of reactions and predicted & experimental properties.
  • PubChem
    PubChem provides information on the biological activities of small molecules. It is a component of NIH's Molecular Libraries Roadmap Initiative.
  • Science Direct
    Partial full text and illustrations for Elsevier journals covering science, technology and medicine. Coverage in some cases back to 1823.
  • PubMed
    PubMed is a highly respected, free biomedical database providing access to scholarly journal articles. Most helpful for those biology topics that involve medical/health issues. 1948-present.
 

Helpful hints for SciFinder

Use the documents below as guides to using SciFinder.  If you are having any difficulty finding information using SciFinder, please contact Sarah Beaubien.

This tutorial has helpful information for getting started with a SciFinder search.

Not finding what you need?

This is a multidisciplinary database and should have information on a wide range of topics.  If you aren't finding what you need in the databases on this guide, contact Sarah for suggestions and assistance.

  • Academic Search Premier
    Academic Search Premier covers most subjects and searches for newspaper & magazine articles in addition to more scholarly articles available in journals.

Subject Guide

Profile Image
Barbara Harvey
Contact Info
(616) 331-5075
Send Email
 
Description

Loading  Loading...

Tip