Last Updated: Apr 30, 2013
These databases are great for biology topics. For databases that cover only narrow subject areas (ex: birds), go to the Supplemental Biology Databases page listed under the Databases tab. If you are having trouble finding what you need in the databases on this guide, please contact Abby for suggestions and assistance.
- BIOSIS Previews
BIOSIS Previews covers almost every life sciences topic. This database searches scholarly journals articles, reports, reviews, meetings, patents & book content. 1926-Present.
PubMed is a highly respected, free biomedical database providing access to scholarly journal articles. Most helpful for those biology topics that involve medical/health issues. 1948-present.
This database covers: agricultural topics, geography, animal science, human nutrition, chemistry, life sciences, energy, and plant diseases. Provided as a service of the National Agriculture Library. 1970-present.
Both of these databases are multidisciplinary, which means they should contain information for almost any topic. If you aren't finding what you need in the databases on this guide contact Colleen for suggestions and assistance.
- Web of Science
This is a great multi-disciplinary database. It searches scholary journals in the sciences, social sciences, and arts & humanities.
- Academic Search Premier
Academic Search Premier covers most subjects and searches for newspaper & magazine articles in addition to more scholarly articles available in journals.