Last Updated: Sep 3, 2013
These databases are great for physics topics. If you are having trouble finding what you need in the databases on this guide, please contact Barbara Harvey for suggestions and assistance.
- ADS (Astrophysics Data System)
This database, funded by NASA, searches for information about astronomy, astrophysics, instrumentation, physics, and geophysics. Users can search for articles, books, conference proceedings and pre-prints.
Open access (meaning free to the public) to scholarly information in physics. Also includes the following subjects: mathematics, computer science, quantitative biology, quantitative finance and statistics.
MathSciNet is a good source for scholarly articles and reviews related to mathematics. This database does contain information for several physics journals as well.
- PROLA (Physical Review Online Archive)
PROLA is the American Physical Society's (APS) online database for scholarly journals. It contains journal articles published from 1893–present.
Through Springer, the library has full text access to over 100 journals in physics.
- Web of Science
This is a great multi-disciplinary database. It searches scholary journals in the sciences, social sciences, and arts & humanities.
These are multidisciplinary databases, which means they should contain information for almost any topic. If you aren't finding what you need in the databases on this guide, contact Sarah for suggestions and assistance.
Partial full text for Elsevier journals covering science, technology and medicine. Coverage in some cases back to 1823.
- Wiley InterScience
This database contains scholarly journal articles covering a wide range of subjects including physics and astronomy.
- Academic Search Premier
Academic Search Premier covers most subjects and searches for newspaper & magazine articles in addition to more scholarly articles available in journals.