This is the "Home" page of the "Philanthropy/Nonprofit Leadership/Johnson Collection" guide.
Alternate Page for Screenreader Users
Skip to Page Navigation
Skip to Page Content

Philanthropy/Nonprofit Leadership/Johnson Collection   Tags: charities, grants, johnson_center, johnson_collection, nonprofit, philanthropy, service_learning, youth_philanthropy  

Information on all aspects of philanthropy and the Dorothy A. Johnson Collection on Philanthropy & Nonprofit Leadership.
Last Updated: Apr 10, 2014 URL: http://libguides.gvsu.edu/philanthropy Print Guide RSS Updates

Home Print Page
  Search: 
 
 

Search The Library

Useful Resources

 

Welcome!

The study of philanthropy is a young field, and consequently not a great deal has been written about it in the scholarly literature. However, GVSU has an extensive collection of philanthropy materials (see the Johnson Philanthropy Collection tab, above). The literature of the nonprofit sector also contributes to the philanthropy knowledge base.

Use the box to the left to search the library's catalog and several of our databases for materials pertaining to philanthropy. Note that most books pertaining to philanthropy are in the Steelcase Library's automated storage and retrieval system (ASRS). When you find an item you want that is in the ASRS, follow the on-screen directions to retrieve it. If you are not affiliated with GVSU, you can obtain books in the philanthropy collection by coming to the Steelcase Library, through MeLCat (MeLCat allows you to order books, audio books, music, movies and other materials and have them delivered to your participating library), or ask for interlibrary loan at your local public library.

In addition to this guide, you may find the School of Public, Nonprofit, and Health Administration Library Guide useful.

 

What is Philanthropy?

 

Katherine Fulton: You are the future of philanthropy

Questions? Ask Me!

Profile Image
Ashley Rosener
Contact Info
130A DEV
Steelcase Library
616-331-5937
Send Email
 

Service Learning

Service learning--a definition

According to Learn and Serve America, a national service learning clearinghouse, service-learning is a teaching and learning strategy that integrates meaningful community service with instruction and reflection to enrich the learning experience, teach civic responsibility, and strengthen communities.

Following are some resources providing more information on service learning.

National Service Learning Clearinghouse
The National Service-Learning Clearinghouse (NSLC) supports the service-learning community in higher education, kindergarten through grade twelve, community-based initiatives and tribal programs.

Description

Loading  Loading...

Tip