This is the "Databases" page of the "Archaeology" guide.
Alternate Page for Screenreader Users
Skip to Page Navigation
Skip to Page Content

Archaeology  

Last Updated: Apr 12, 2013 URL: http://libguides.gvsu.edu/archaeology Print Guide RSS UpdatesShareThis

Databases Print Page
  Search: 
 
 

Finding Articles

Databases allow you to search for articles about your topic. They show you information about an article: the title, author, and name of the journal or magazine the article appeared in. This is called the citation. Some databases also contain an abstract, or summary, of the article.

Many databases also include the articles themselves (called the full text of the article). When that happens, you should see a link to an HTML or PDF document. If you do not see a link, click on

 this will check the other library databases for the full text of the article.

Some databases also have information about other types of resources: sometimes they have information about books, book chapters, government documents, and other things.

Peer Review

Best Databases for Archaeology

Start your search with these databases.

For more information about any of these databases, go to the GVSU Libraries database list, look for the database by name, and then click on the rectangular info icon to the right of the name.

  • Anthropology Plus
    Anthropology Plus indexes journal articles, reports, commentaries, edited works, and obituaries in the fields of anthropology, archaeology, ethnology, folklore, and related fields.
  • eHRAF Archaeology
    eHRAF Archaeology is a cross-cultural database containing information on the world's prehistory.
  • JSTOR
    JSTOR provides full-text backfiles of many of the core research and society published journals. Good source for older back issues; will not have current issues.
  • Web of Science
    Web of Science consists of five databases containing information gathered from thousands of scholarly journals. An excellent scholarly source for all subjects.
 

SEARCH SUMMON

This is a great place to start when you do not know where to begin.  Summon is the library's version of Google.  It searches both our library catalog and many of our databases all at once!

Subject Guide

Profile Image
Emily Frigo
Contact Info
Zumberge Library, Room 406
frigoe@gvsu.edu
(616)331-7343
Send Email
 

Information on the new Mary Idema Pew Library

Description

Loading  Loading...

Tip