- Grand Valley State University
- Subject Guides
- CAP Master
- Recommended websites
CAP Master: Recommended websites
School of Communications
Advertising links
- Winmo (was Advertising Red Books)Lists advertisers (companies, competitors, brands, industry codes, key contacts, media spend, sales, ad agencies, news) & agencies (media focus, target markets, key contacts, clients, social media, news).
- O*Net OnLine
information about different careers, occupations, & industries
- AAF: American Advertising Federationnational advertising news, events, job postings.
AdFed (American Advertising Federation) West Michigan
local advertising news, events, job postings.
Advertising Age DatacenterProvides advertising & marketing industry data such as ad spending, media, agencies, jobs, contacts, superbowl advertising, & various top ten lists for brands, magazines & newspaper circulation & markets.
- Adweek website
Advertising news: the major trade magazine. For complete articles, try searching the title of the article, author, and adweek in the "Find articles, books, & more" search box. Not all are available.
IAB Advertising Spend and Revenue ResearchInteractive Advertising Bureau (IAB) includes estimated measurements of Internet/online advertising revenues- NielsenMeasures demographics based on industry & provides ratings.
Polling ReportA list of various national polls taken on trending issues.
Vintage Ad Browsercollects vintage ads from a variety of sources, including comic books, CD-ROMs, websites, APIs, your submissions, books, and magazines.- DeloitteState of the Media Democracy Survey-has media consumption preferences & usage statistics
- eMarketerdata, articles, reports, trends & forecasts on: consumer demographics, digital advertising, social media, smartphone & online video usage
- Television Bureau of Advertisingnews; Nielsen TV ranks by DMA; characteristics of local markets & local broadcast stations, digital channels, & online platforms; media comparisons
- Center for the Digital Future bydigital/online/internet/web news & technology reports; Digital Future Report; World Internet Project Report
(cell phones, online privacy, tablet use, etc.)
Demographics--U.S.
Census DataU.S. source for population, economic, & geographic information
Consumer Expenditure SurveyAmerican consumer buying/spending habits.
U.S. Department of Labor, Bureau of Labor Statistics.- Metropolitan Statistical Area (MSA) TablesU.S. Consumer Expenditure Survey: spending by large cities
Pew Research Center: Social & Demographic TrendsU.S. questionnaires & data sets
OnTheMapweb-based mapping & reporting--shows where workers are employed, where they live, reports on age, earnings, industry distributions, race, ethnicity, educational attainment, & sex.- Best Customers: Demographics of Consumer DemandPublication Date: 2018trends & spending info for products & services by household characteristics
Demographics--Michigan
- Michigan Labor Market InformationMichigan Center for Data and Analytics and Michigan Census Data Network
Public Relations
- O*Net OnLineinformation about different careers, occupations, & industries
New PR WikiWikipedia for Public Relations
PR MuseumPioneers of Public Relations
PR NewswireThe global leader in news and information distribution services for professional communicators.
PR WeekPublic Relations: the major trade magazine.
For full text of articles, use database Business Source Ultimate- PRSA: Public Relations Society of AmericaWorld's largest organization for public relations professionals.
West Michigan PRSA
local organization for public relations professionals
Demographics--West Michigan & Grand Rapids
CRI Community Profiles 2.0Compare & score multiple neighborhoods & housing/economic indicators, Generate profile reports for your defined or customized geographic areas- Right PlaceWhy West Michigan, industries, data center, live/work, resource directory, & specialized maps.
W.E. Upjohn Institute for Employment ResearchWest Michigan economic info, Business Outlook for West Michigan, Regional data/statistics, development forecasts, etc.
Kent County Strategic Plan PerformanceClick on a priority and "drill down" for brief reports on various issues- OnTheMapweb-based mapping & reporting--shows where workers are employed, where they live, reports on age, earnings, industry distributions, race, ethnicity, educational attainment, & sex.
Rapid Growth MediaClick Places or On the Ground for brief articles about neighborhoods
GR DataMaps, budget, demographics, safety, transportation.- Small Business ResourcesIncludes resources for Nonprofits too, from the Grand Rapids Public Library
Demographics, Databases
- PRIZMThe data from PRIZM is in the SRDS database, Local Market Audience Analyst.
- VALS TypesIdentifies the psychological motivations that predict consumer behavior. Explanations are freely available but not the data.
Media Kits
Most newspapers, magazines, & broadcast media provide demograhic data about their audience for advertisers in an online media kit. Go to the company/publication website & find the link on that page for Advertisers (often at the bottom of the page). One can usually find a media kit with detailed information about market and readership. See the Atlanta-Journal Constitution Media Kit, the Business Week Media Kit, OR NYTmediakit as examples. In Google, try searching for the publication name and media kits, or advertising rates. E.g., "business week" ("media kit" OR "advertising rates")
To find the Top Lists of magazines or TV channels -- do a simple search in Google for something like "top magazines for teens"
- Ulrichs Web This link opens in a new windowrough pricing for print ads for SOME of the magazines/journals/newspapers it includes: do a title search. On the next screen, scroll down to the Demographics link.
- Nielsen's Topline RatingsFor radio station ratings in metropolitan markets: set up a free account, enter the city, & compare station ratings (average quarter hour persons or AQH)
- GRPs and TRPsSum of the ratings= GRPs.
Sum of the ratings of a specific demographic segment = TRPs. - HUTs and PUTsHUT = homes using television
PUT = persons using television - BDI & CDICategory Development Index = CDI
Brand Development Index = BDI - IAB Advertising Spend and Revenue ResearchInteractive Advertising Bureau (IAB) includes estimated measurements of Internet/online advertising revenues
- data axle reference solutionsOnly available to Kent District Library cardholders. Data on U.S. & Canadian businesses, White Pages, Consumers' Lifestyles, Physicians & Dentists directory.
Company research
Go to company's website and look for "about us" or "investors" for annual reports and info for shareholders.
Subjects: Advertising & Public Relations, Communications
- Last Updated: Apr 16, 2024 1:09 PM
- URL: https://libguides.gvsu.edu/cap/old
