Websites
Listed below are a few online education glossaries. You might find definitions in scholarly articles and books specific to your topic.
- Glossary of Terms from the Kent ISD's Curriculum CrafterGlossary of terms for the K-12 aligned curriculum for all content areas from Kent Intermediate School District.
- Child Care & Early Education GlossaryTerms used to describe aspects of child care and early education practice and policy.
- EdSource Online Glossary and AcronymsYou must first fill out the user survey before you may access their excellent glossary of terms and acronyms.
- Glossary from LDonline.orgGlossary of education terms and acronyms maintained by LDoline.org.
- Glossary from Weaving a Secure Web Around EducationA guide to technology terms, standards and security
- Glossary of Assessment TermsA common set of test terms used in assessment administration and scoring manuals
- Glossary of Education Terms and AcronymsNorth Central Regional Educational Laboratory’s educational glossary.
- Glossary of Educational TermsSite with some of the most commonly used education terms, along with the most parent-friendly definitions we could find.
- Glossary of Instructional StrategiesSite provides the glossary of instructional strategies as a resource for all educators.
- Glossary of Reading TermsTerms defined by Florida Center for Reading Research.
- Glossary of Special Education and Legal Terms
- Learn NC: Education ReferenceMaintained by the University of North Carolina at Chapel Hill, School of Education.
- NCLB: Glossary of TermsTerms used within No Child Left Behind
- Research GlossaryTerms used in conducting social science and policy research.
E-Dictionaries
The e-book titles displayed are just a few electronic and paper dictionaries owned by GVSU. Search the catalog to find other dictionaries that might help you define your terms.
Edspeak [e-Book]: A Glossary of Education Terms, Phrases, Buzzwords, and Jargon
Also in paper: LB15 .R285 2007 - Steelcase Library
Academic Keywords [e-Book]: A Devil’s Dictionary for Higher Education
Also in paper: LB2324 .N45 1999
Dictionary of Multicultural Education [e-Book]
Also available in paper at the Steelcase Library - Reference Collection :REF LC1099 .D53 1997
Reference Education Dictionaries
Edspeak: A Glossary of Education Terms, Phrases, Buzzwords, and Jargon
Call Number: LB15 .R285 2007 - Steelcase Library
Also available as an e-book.
Academic Keywords: A Devil's Dictionary for Higher Education
Call Number: LB2324 .N45 1999 - Steelcase Library
Also available as an e-Book.
American Educators' Encyclopedia
Call Number: REFERENCE LB15 .D37 1991 - Steelcase Library
Encyclopedic lengthy definitions of education terms
Dictionary of Multicultural Education
Call Number: REFRENCE LC1039 .D53 1997 - Steelcase Library
Handbook of Educational Terms and Applications
Call Number: REFERENCE LB15 .E419 1996 - Steelcase Library
Language of Learning: A Guide to Education Terms
Call Number: REFERENCE LB15 .M32 1997 - Zumberge Library
Circulating Dictionaries
Dictionary of Education
Call Number: LB15 .R64 1982 - Steelcase Library
Dictionary of Special Education and Rehabilitation
Call Number: LC3957 .V47 1997 - Steelcase Library
Education and the Law: A Dictionary
Call Number: KF4117 .T39 1996 - Steelcase Library
Facts on File Dictionary of Education
Call Number: LB15 .S43 1988 - Steelcase Library
International Dictionary of Education
Call Number: LB15 .P34 1977 - Steelcase Library
Whole Language Primer: Most Likely an Oxymoron
Call Number: LB1576 .G85 1989 - Steelcase Library
ERIC Thesaurus of Descriptors
ERIC Thesaurus provides "Scope Notes", or definitions, on most of the terms.
- Thesaurus of ERIC DescriptorsLatest summer 2008 update to the Thesaurus of ERIC Descriptors to help you in filling out the Data Form, the final page of your project/thesis.
Education Acronyms
Educator use acronyms all the time when describing programs, laws, or even concepts. Below are links to various ogranizations that provide lists of acronyms found in education.
- Acronym FinderFind the meaning of an acronym, abbreviation, or initial.
- Education Oasis: List of Education AcronymsGeneral education and association acronyms
- Glossary of Acronyms and AbbreviationsAbbreviations and acronyms used in Performance and Accountability Reports
- North Carolina Public Schools: Education Acronyms
Loading...
