This is the "Home" page of the "PA 360" guide.
Alternate Page for Screenreader Users
Skip to Page Navigation
Skip to Page Content

PA 360  

This guide provides some suggestions for resources that will provide information about subsectors and specific nonprofits.
Last Updated: Apr 24, 2013 URL: http://libguides.gvsu.edu/pa360 Print Guide RSS UpdatesEmail Alerts

Home Print Page
  Search: 
 
 

Using the Catalog

Use the catalog to find books about nonprofit management and/or your specific nonprofit sector.  Below, I've included a book on nonprofits and another on immigration. 

To get started, try some key words. Key words can be as simple as "nonprofit organization", or the subsector, the population the organization serves, or even the name of your orgnization.  Keep in mind that you may need to search using synonyms or related concepts. 

 

Nonprofit Journals

Below is a list of journals specific to Nonprofit Administration.  To find these journals, go to the catalog and do a title search for the title of the journal. Once you find the record, you can browse or search the journal. 
  • Foundation Review
  • International Journal of Nonprofit and Voluntary Sector Marketing
  • International Jounral of Volunteer Administration
  • Nonprofit and Voluntary Sector Quarterly
  • Nonprofit Management and Leadership
  • Voluntas: International Journal of Voluntary and Nonprofit Organizations
  • Chronicle of Philanthropy
  • Nonprofit Quarterly
  • NonProfit Times
  • Philanthropy News Digest
 

Databases

Find journal articles using databases.  The library subscribes to hundreds of databases.  I link to some that are particularly good for PNHA students at the Public and Nonprofit Administration and Health Administration Guides but there are many others available at the database table.  From the home page, click "databases" to access a more complete list.

Some that might be particularly useful for this assignment are:

  1. Public Administration Abstracts
  2. PAIS International
  3. Sage
  4. Foundation Directory
 

Internet Resources

  • Johnson Center Home Page  Provides information to support nonprofits such as public data, publications on philanthropy and nonprofits, and more.
  • Idealist.org  Search for the organization name.  You will be provided with contact information, a mission statement, and jobs and internships.
  • GuideStar  The free version of GuideStar is a searchable database with contact information, a mission statement, and sometimes financial information such as tax documents.
  • Economic Research Institute  Search for info about noprofits, including links to 990 forms.  Also provides compensation, benefits, and human resource research for private and public organizations.
Description

Loading  Loading...

Tip