Country Research
- GlobalEdge
- World Economic Forum
- Eurostat
- Country Commercial Guides
- Market Research Reports
- UN ComtradeComtrade is useful for current international trade statistics and for historical trade data.
- Background Notes - U.S. Dept. of State
- Country Studies / Area Handbook Series
- Global Agriculture Information Network (GAIN)AgWorld Attache Reports
- ABYZ News Links
- CIA World Factbook
- Economist.com: Country Briefings
- Embassy World
- Export.gov - Country Information
- International Database - U.S. Census
- International Monetary Fund: Country Information
- OECD - Economic and Social Issues
- World Bank - Countries & Regions
Comments (0)
Statistical information about other countries
- International Economic Statistics Database"An economic information portal ... IES database simplifies the search for world-wide economic indicators."
GDP, CPI, etc. - Census Bureau:Statistical Agencies (International)Listed by country, a link is provided to the statistical agency for that country.
- OECD: Organization for Ecomonic Co-operation and Development: Statistics
International Relations - Country Information Websites
- BBC News Country Profiles"Full profiles provide an instant guide to history, politics and economic background of countries and territories, and background on key institutions. They also include audio or video clips from BBC archives."
- Background Notes (U.S. Dep't of State)"Background Notes are factual publications that include facts about the land, people, history, government, political conditions, economy, and foreign relations of independent states, some dependencies, and areas of special sovereignty."
- Country Studies (Library of Congress)"The Country Studies Series presents a description and analysis of the historical setting and the social, economic, political, and national security systems and institutions of countries throughout the world."
- Election GuideCreated by the International Foundation for Electoral Systems "ElectionGuide is the most comprehensive and timely source of verified election information and results available online."
- Foreign Government Web Sites (Northwestern University)Access links to the official websites of foreign governments, as well as links to specific agency websites.
- InfoNation (United Nations)Allows you to view and compare statistical data from the UN for up to five nations.
- International Monetary Fund: Country InformationAccess IMF reports and publications arranged by country.
- Nations of the World (Library of Congress)Access information on countries' government, as well as more generalized information.
- OFFSTATS: Official Statistics on the WebThis site from the University of Auckland Library allows you to find statistical data issued by a country's official government and by other organizations such as the World Bank and United Nations.
- State Department Post Reports Provides a view of living, housing, and health conditions in countries, as well as recreational, cultural, and employment opportunities and an overview of the history, geography, demography, and political conditions.
- UNdata (United Nations)This portal that allows you to search across multiple UN statistical databases at once.
- UNdata Country ProfilesProvides statistical summaries of individual countries.
- World Bank: Countries and RegionsAccess Country Briefs, overviews, statistics and other World Bank publications on countries around the world.
Human Rights Organizations
Human Rights Reports
- Amnesty International Online Documentation ArchiveAllows you to search for documents or access them by country, region or theme.
- Country Reports on Human Rights Practices (U.S. Dep't of State)Access the current copy of this report, as well as previous reports back to 1993.
- Human Rights Library (University of Minnesota)This site provides access to "more than eighty-five thousand core human rights documents, including several hundred human rights treaties and other primary international human rights instruments."
- International Religious Freedom Report (U.S. Dep't of State)"Describes the status of religious freedom in each foreign country, government policies violating religious belief and practices of groups, religious denominations, and individuals, and U.S. policies to promote religious freedom around the world."
Country Information Databases
Country Information Reference Sources
Questions? |
Contact Info Head of Instructional Services University Libraries Grand Valley State University Allendale, MI 49401 Send Email Links: Profile & Guides Subjects: Women and Gender Studies |

Loading...
