ENG 400: Home
Welcome, ENG 400!
This guide supports the ENG 400 Winter 2023 course. See the BOOKS tab for project-specific resources.
Feel free to reach out to your librarian if you have research questions or would like to set up a research consultation for any English class!
-Cara Medvedenko, Subject Librarian to the Departments of English, Writing, and African/African American Studies
- Find ArticlesThese resources index and store scholarly articles written about literature.
- Books & MediaUsing book-length scholarship in English can help you go deeper into specific topics and/or find quality articles anthologized into books by topic.
- Dictionaries & EncyclopediasDictionaries and encyclopedias are a good place to start for background information about your topic. This could include an overview, facts & quick answers, and paths to other sources.
- Recommended JournalsSearching by journal is great for exploring the culture of literary study and keeping up with new scholarship in a focused area.
For Scholarly Articles in Education & Curricular Materials
- ERIC This link opens in a new windowSponsored by the Institute of Education Sciences of the U.S. Department of Education. Includes scholarly, peer-reviewed articles, as well as a variety of other materials.
- ProQuest Education Database This link opens in a new windowCovers the literature on primary, secondary, and higher education, as well as special education, home schooling, adult education, and hundreds of related topics. Includes 640 full text journals. Coverage is from 1991 to the present.
- Education Source This link opens in a new windowProvides scholarly research for education students, professionals, and policy makers. Covers all levels of education from early childhood to higher education. Covers specialties such as multilingual education, health education, and testing.
- Education Abstract & Education Index Retrospective This link opens in a new windowEducation Abstracts provides access to a vast range of historical education magazines, peer-reviewed journals, and yearbooks. It contains articles and information about articles written between 1929 and 1983 and after 1995.
Additional Literary Databases
- MLA International Bibliography with Full Text This link opens in a new windowArticles, books, and other scholarship related to literature, language, linguistics and folklore. Produced by the Modern Language Association (MLA), this online bibliography dates back to the 1920's. The database contains millions of citations, as well as, full text for 1,000 journals.
- Literature Criticism Online This link opens in a new window• Full-text biographical and critical essays on major poets, playwrights, novelists and other writing through history and across language
• Emphasis is on western authors writing in English
- Literature Resource Center This link opens in a new window• Full-text access to peer-reviewed journal articles, book reviews, biographical essays, topical overview essays, poetry, and short fiction from contemporary literary magazines
- Literature Online This link opens in a new window• Literature Online (LION) provides full-text, searchable access to a wide range of English language literary works, criticism, and reference sources.
- Cambridge Companions This link opens in a new window• Full-text, scholarly reviewed essay anthologies on a range of topics in literature, the classics, philosophy, culture, and religion
• Best for searching on particular authors, movements, eras, and works
- Last Updated: Mar 27, 2023 8:21 AM
- URL: https://libguides.gvsu.edu/ENG400