- GVSU
- Subject Guides
- AHS 495
- Articles/Databases
AHS 495: Articles/Databases
Search The Library
Library Search searches many of the library's resources at the same time. You get scholarly journal articles, books, and magazine and newspaper articles all in one place. The column on the left of the results page offers many options for narrowing your results. If you are not finding what you want with Library Search, try one of the databases listed in the box above.
Am I reading an article that is Scholarly?
The Library can help you find out if an article come from a scholarly journal. If the database does not already indicate or specify that the content is scholarly you can check by looking at Ulrich's Web:
-
Ulrichs WebUlrich's is a bibliographic database providing detailed, comprehensive, and authoritative information on serials published throughout the world.
Health Science Databases
-
CINAHL CompleteThis database provides access to health science literature related to nursing and allied health disciplines. In addition, it includes standards of practice and evidence-based care guidelines.
-
PubMedPubMed, a service of the National Library of Medicine, is a publicly available online database of biomedical and medical journal records. It includes MEDLINE content.
-
Cochrane LibraryThis portal allows users to search several databases containing evidence-based medical resources: Cochrane Database of Systematic Reviews, Database of Abstracts of Reviews of Effectiveness, Health Technology Assessments, and Cochrane Central Register of Controlled Trials.
-
ProQuest Medical DatabaseUse this database to find medical literature covering major healthcare specialties, including nursing and allied health disciplines.
-
Web of ScienceThis indexing database is good for following the history of research through cited articles. It covers Science Citation Index as well as the social sciences.
-
Lexicomp OnlineLexicomp Online provides point-of-care drug information, including dosing, administration, warnings and precautions, as well as clinical content, such as clinical practice guidelines, and other tools. The platform includes 13 databases, 7 clinical support modules, and “Facts & Comparisons” for additional comparative information.
Social Science and Education Databases
-
PsycINFOPsycINFO, produced by the American Psychological Association, provides access to journal articles, book chapters, books, dissertations, reports, and other documents from all over the world in both English and foreign languages in the field of psychology and related disciplines such as education, criminology, psychiatry, social work, medicine, and law, back to 1887.
-
ProQuest Psychology JournalsProQuest Psychology Journals provides abstracts and indexing for more than 710 titles, with over 570 titles available in full text.
-
HAPI (Health & Psychosocial Instruments)HAPI (Health and Psychosocial Instruments) includes information on tools for clinicians and where to find them. It covers such tools as questionnaires, interview schedules, tests, checklists, rating and other scales, coding schemes, and projective techniques in the areas of health sciences, psychology and social sciences. There are ten concurrent users for this database.
-
ERICThe ERIC (Educational Resources Information Center) database is sponsored by the U.S. Department of Education. ERIC provides access to journal articles, conferences, meetings, government documents, theses, dissertations, reports, audiovisual media, bibliographies, directories, and books.
-
ERIC via U.S. Department of EducationThis indexing database is the same ERIC database as is used above, however some may prefer the original platform through U.S. Department of Education. Please note that this version of ERIC does NOT provide document delivery, links to other GVSU databases, or to the library catalog.
Subjects:
Allied Health Sciences, Course Guides
- Last Updated: Feb 4, 2021 10:56 AM
- URL: https://libguides.gvsu.edu/ahs495
