Web Work Notes

I’ve been working on updating the library’s website this summer. Recently, I completed some new designs for important pages I want to share with you. Our landing pages direct users to the content they need to reach their goals. And our location pages help our users know where to find study space, collections, and more.

At least that’s how these pages should work. Ours are not great, and it is time to update them to make them more useful.

Here is the landing page for the first new navigation category: Find, Borrow, Request.

It directs to collections and materials, as well as information about libary accounts. The other landing pages will have similar layouts, and should be ready to preview by next week.

Location pages have not served our users for a long time. The new location pages highlight the services, spaces, and collections of each space. We also share restroom location, including gender-neutral locations, nursing stations, and more. The new study space section will show off the variety of quiet and collaborative spaces we have.

Here is the new Steelcase Library location page. I’m updating other locations as I take new photos.

One new feature of these pages is Breadcrumbs - these are links and visual cues to the website’s structure. I have to add these by hand but by the start of Fall semester, they should be throughout the site.

Next week I will have landing pages complete and progress on other locations. The first full week of August I will begin some new content pages for study spaces and computer labs. As always, I will keep you updated here!

Last week, I told you that I am reorganizing the library website. I shared new top-level categories that reflect changes to our services and to how folks use the Web. They are:

• Find, Borrow, Request
• Teaching & Scholarship
• Visit, Study, Learn
• About Us

Today I want to share how I will organize our website content in these categories.

Find, Borrow, Request

The first section has links to Find Materials:

• Books in various formats
• Databases, Journals, Articles, Videos, and Data
• Special Collections, Rare Books, and University Archives
• GVSU-authored materials (ScholarWorks@GVSU)
• Curriculum Materials

I am also adding new links for finding Course Reserves and browsing by call number. The second section has pages on Borrowing and Requesting items:

• Document Delivery and MeLCat
• Borrowing Privileges and Policies
• Renew Books
• Borrow Laptops, chargers, and study aids
• Borrow eBooks through Overdrive

Teaching and Scholarship

Ten years ago our content on teaching moved to an “Instructional Services” website. That site is gone, and it’s time to bring that focus back to the library website. The first section will offer Help with Scholarship:

• Subject and Course Guides (LibGuides)
• Librarians by Subject, Knowledge Market, and 1-on-1 research consultations
• Citation Tools and the Resource Market
• Open Access and Publication Services
• Document Delivery*
• ScholarWorks submissions (including theses and projects)

We will also highlight Instruction and Course Support:

• First Year Writing and Online/Hybrid Support
• Teaching and Classroom support, SCUA instruction, request instruction
• Knowledge Market services for faculty
• Student Learning Outcomes
• Course Reserves*

Last, we will have a section on Copyright Resources. (Matt Ruen and I will work on updating these pages in Fall 2024):

Visit, Study, Learn

We see a need to highlight the physical spaces and in-person offerings at the library. The first highlight here will be the Knowledge Market. We will then have a new section on Study Spaces that will include:

• Group Study Rooms
• The Study Space Quiz
• New sections on different types of study spaces in library spaces

We will then have a redesigned section on our Locations. The current location pages focus on marketing the locations. Amy and I will design the new pages with a visitor focus. Stace, Amy, and I have also been working on new content for Events and Exhibits:

• Events at the library, hosting an event, policies
• Pop-up exhibits (coming soon), and SCUA exhibits
• Tours and Filming in the library

I am adding a new section on Computing:

• Borrowing laptops and chargers*
• Computer labs in library locations and software
• Printing and Scanning (Including 3D printing)
• Guest computer access

Last, I will add Create and Design:

• Digital Creator Lab
• Tech Showcase
• Curriculum Materials Equipment

About Us

This final section will continue to hold information about the library. The first section will be About the Libraries:

• Mission, Vision, Values, Goals, etc.
• IDEA and Territorial Acknowledgement
• Collections Strategy and other strategy documents

We will continue to link to the Staff Directory. The Off The Shelf site is now the Library News section, which will share a wide variety of library stories. A new section called Work for Us will:

• Highlight our student, staff, and faculty jobs
• Advertise fellowships, practicums, and internships

We will continue to encourage our users to Give to the Library through funds and donations. We will collect our public-facing Policies and Faculty Governance materials into groups. Finally, a new section of links For Staff provides easy access to internal staff websites.

I will also simplify a few web pages and sites. The four Curriculum Materials Library pages will merge together into one page. The Scholarly Communications website will move into the main library website.

The new navigation will go live the week of August 12th. The help, My Account, and chat links will be part of a new toolbar. I will share mock ups of new landing pages by early next week. Please reach out with any feedback!

Footnote *: Some items will be in more than one place in the navigation. That is okay!

It’s been almost 10 years since we reorganized how the content of the library website. A lot has changed in that time—the systems we use, the services we offer, and how users browse the web. This summer I’ll be working on the site’s “Information Architecture.” I’ll be changing the categories we use to navigate the site, and moving pages to where they make the most sense.

Currently we have four (4) categories of content:

• Find Materials
• Services
• About Us
• Help

There are two (2) more top-level links in the navigation, too: “My Account” and “Ask a Question.” More on those in a bit.

I observed how users search and browsethe website and wrote new categories based on our library goals. I also checked out how our peer libraries had organized their websites. Since the pandemic, there has been a lot of renewed interest in our spaces. I also want to highlight the work we do to support the teaching and research at the University. And while the category names are longer than they are now, they reflect our users’ words, not our jargon. Our new categories will be:

• Find, Borrow, Request
• Visit, Study, Learn
• Teaching and Scholarship
• About Us

The links to the My Account page and Ask a Question will move up to the header of the site. This is because both of these links are tools, not categories of pages. The Ask link will take folks to all the various ways to get help. (We are still working on the label.) The header will also get a direct link to our Chat service. I’ll share more about how the header will be changing as the summer goes on.

Keep tuned for future posts on what content will go in what category! My target dates for the new organization is for August, after Summer semester but before the Fall.