Academic Search Ultimate is a giant database that covers more than 10,021 journals, and full text for nearly 9,017 peer-reviewed titles. It is a comprehensive, multi-disciplinary resource of scholarly research.
Read and search 500 newspapers from 70 countries in more than 30 languages. Newspapers Direct allows you to see the exact image of the newspapers, including all images and advertisements. Coverage is for the last 60 days.
The library's main political science database. An excellent source for finding scholarly political science and international relations articles.
"International Political Science Abstracts (IPSA),produced by the International Political Science Association, includes current indexing and abstracts of the world's leading journals in political science. This database contains over 110,000 records from nearly 900 journals published from 1989 to the present. Approximately 8,000 new records are added to the database each year."
One of the library's top international relations databases. This database indexes scholarly and trade journals, books, and publications from governments and NGOs. "Since its establishment in 1914, PAIS (Public Affairs Information Service) has chronicled issues in the public debate through highly selective coverage of a wide variety of sources. The PAIS Archive provides historical perspective on many of the 20th century's public and social policies. PAIS Archive contains over 1.23 million records.
The PAIS International database from CSA contains references to more than 553,300 journal articles, books, government documents, statistical directories, grey literature, research reports, conference reports, publications of international agencies, microfiche, Internet material, and more. Newspapers and newsletters are not indexed.
PAIS International includes publications from over 120 countries throughout the world. In addition to English, some of the indexed materials are published in French, German, Italian, Portuguese, and Spanish."
Public affairs publications from over 120 countries.
International affairs database with working papers, journal articles, books, policy papers and more from a wide variety of sources. Most of the resources in this database are available full text. "Columbia International Affairs Online (CIAO) is the most comprehensive source for theory and research in international affairs. It publishes a wide range of scholarship from 1991 onward that includes working papers from university research institutes, occasional papers series from NGOs, foundation-funded research projects, proceedings from conferences, books, journals and policy briefs."
Full text database that consists of backfiles of key journals from a variety of disciplines. "JSTOR offers a high-quality, interdisciplinary archive to support scholarship and teaching. It includes archives of over one thousand leading academic journals across the humanities, social sciences, and sciences, as well as select monographs and other materials valuable for academic work. The entire corpus is full-text searchable, offers search term highlighting, includes high-quality images, and is interlinked by millions of citations and references."
Full text database that consists of hundreds of prestigious and key journals in the Social Sciences and Humanities, including dozens of journals in the fields of Political Science and International Relations.
Web of Science, which includes Social Science Citation Index, is different than other databases in that it indexes what sources an article cites. This allows users to find similar articles on a topic based on shared citations.
This database includes coverage of ethnic, minority and native newspapers, magazines and journals. Excellent source for alternative viewpoints. "Ethnic NewsWatch™ (ENW) features newspapers, magazines, and journals of the ethnic and minority press, providing researchers access to essential, often overlooked perspectives. With titles dating from 1990, ENW presents a comprehensive, full-text collection of nearly 1.6 million articles from more than 280 publications offering both national and regional coverage. While the content may mirror mainstream media coverage, the viewpoints are decidedly unique."
Index Islamicus is an international bibliography of publications in European languages on all aspects of Islam and the Muslim world. It covers their history, beliefs, societies, cultures, languages and literatures.
"GenderWatch is a full text database comprised of periodicals and other publications that focus on the impact of gender across a broad spectrum of subject areas." "With archival material dating back to 1970, GenderWatch™ provides authoritative historical and current perspectives on the evolution of gender roles as they affect both men and women. GenderWatch supports gay, lesbian, bisexual, and transgender (GLBT) studies; family studies; gender studies, and women’s studies with a unique interdisciplinary approach. Combining more than 230 academic, gray, and popular literature titles, GenderWatch provides researchers with more than 125,000 full-text articles on wide-ranging topics like sexuality, religion, societal roles, feminism, masculinity, eating disorders, day care, and the workplace."
This database is the library's best source of articles on United States history. When looking for articles on U.S. foreign relations, one will need to look in both this database and Historical Abstracts.
A comprehensive bibliography of the history of the United States and Canada from prehistory to the present. The database comprises over 530,000 entries for periodicals dating back to the 1950s.