Subject Guides: Chemistry: Recommended Websites

Chemistry: Recommended Websites

SciFinder-n This link opens in a new window
The SciFinder Drawing Editor lets you quickly and easily Draw structures with query features that result in finding the most relevant substances. Create your own custom templates, or use a CAS Registry Number, SMILES string, or InChI string as the basis for a structure.

PubChem
PubChem provides information on the biological activities of small molecules. PubChem is organized as three linked databases within the NCBI's Entrez: PubChem Substance, PubChem Compound, and PubChem BioAssay. PubChem also provides a fast chemical structure similarity search tool.
ChemSpider
ChemSpider is a free chemical structure database, from the Royal Society of Chemistry, providing fast text and structure search access to over 29 million structures from hundreds of data sources.
ChemSketch Freeware Download
A free chemical drawing and molecular modeling software for PC's.
Symyx Draw
A no-fee version of ISIS/Draw. For academic and personal use. Requires free registration and download.

Wired Chemist
Education tool containing lecture notes, laboratory directions and animations that demonstrate various scientific principles.

Common Chemistry
Need to know the CAS Registry Number (CASRN) for a chemical? This website, from the Chemical Abstracts Service, allows you to look up chemicals by name or CASRN.
NIST Data Gateway
Provides easy access to all databases available from NIST's Standard Reference Data on a range of substances and properties from many different scientific disciplines.
Science Daily
Latest scientific news. Great way to get ideas for papers and projects.

National Library of Medicine Databases This link opens in a new window
The National Library of Medicine provides a wide variety of resources related to the biomedical and health sciences in the form of databases, databanks, bibliographic citations, full-text, and images. Among them are Entrez, a molecular biology database system; Cancer Information; AIDSInfo; Medline Plus, a patient health information database; PubMed Central, an open-access database of full-text articles in the health and biological sciences; and TOXNET, a network of databases on toxicology, hazardous chemicals, and related areas.

Science.gov
Science.gov searches over 36 databases and 1,850 selected websites, offering 200 million pages of authoritative U.S. government science information, including research and development results.

Subjects: Chemistry