- Grand Valley State University
- Subject Guides
- Biomedical Sciences
- Additional Databases
Biomedical Sciences: Additional Databases
Molecules
- ACS Publications This link opens in a new windowChemistry database that searches articles from journals published by the American Chemical Society. Articles are full-text and cover all areas of chemistry. 1879-present.
- SciFinder-n This link opens in a new windowSciFinder provides access to 5 CAS (Chemical Abstracts Service) databases and MEDLINE. Search for chemical structures, molecular formula, chemical reactions, in addition to searching for research topics. Users must create a free account for access.
- PubChemPubChem provides information on the biological activities of small molecules. PubChem is organized as three linked databases within the NCBI's Entrez information retrieval system. These are PubChem Substance, PubChem Compound, and PubChem BioAssay.
Not Finding What You Need?
These databases are multidisciplinary, which means they should contain information for almost any topic. If you aren't finding what you need in these databases or the Biomedical Sciences Databases, ask Anna!
- Academic Search Ultimate This link opens in a new windowOne of the first places to go to start your research. Academic Search Premier covers most subjects and searches for newspaper & magazine articles in addition to more scholarly articles available in journals.
- Science Direct This link opens in a new windowPartial full text for Elsevier journals covering science, technology and medicine. Coverage in some cases back to 1823.
- Web of Science This link opens in a new windowThis is a great multi-disciplinary database. It searches scholarly journals in the sciences, social sciences, and arts & humanities.
Supplemental Biomedical Databases
These are specialized databases that can be complicated to use; you will probably want to try one of the biomedical databases first. Feel free to contact Anna with questions about using these more specialized resources.
- National Library of Medicine Databases This link opens in a new windowThe NLM provides a variety of resources related to biomedical and health sciences, both past and present.
- EntrezSearch across several life sciences databases. From the National Center for Biotechnology Information.
- PEDro This link opens in a new windowPhysiotherapy Evidence Database--"access to bibliographic details and abstracts of randomized controlled trials, systematic reviews and evidence-based clinical practice guidelines in physiotherapy."
Subjects: Biomedical Sciences
- Last Updated: Apr 16, 2024 1:09 PM
- URL: https://libguides.gvsu.edu/bms
