African American Studies: Find Articles
FINDING ARTICLES
Databases allow you to search for articles about your topic. They show you information about an article: the title, author, and name of the journal or magazine the article appeared in. This is called the citation. Some databases also contain an abstract, or summary, of the article.
Many databases also include the articles themselves (called the full text of the article). When that happens, you should see a link to an HTML or PDF document. If you do not see a link, click on
this will check the other library databases for the full text of the article.
Some databases also have information about other types of resources: sometimes they have information about books, book chapters, government documents, and other things.
Databases in African American Studies
These databases specifically focus on African American Studies.
- African American Experience• Primary sources, images, and encyclopedia entries
• Does NOT contain scholarly journal articles
Features:
• Search tips
• Citation tools
• Search history - allAfrica• Aggregating, producing and distributing news and information from over 140 African news organizations
• Content is in both English and French and is updated daily - Black Studies Center• Scholarly journal articles, newspaper articles, images, and more
Features:
• Categorical results
• Search history - Black Thought and Culture• Rich primary source collection of 100,000 pages of writing by major American black leaders
• Interviews, speeches, articles, essays, and more included where possible
Features:
• Black Panther newsletters
• Concordance
• Advanced search - Chicago Defender (1909-1975)• The most important black metropolitan newspaper in America
• Includes full page and article images with a searchable full text back to the first issue
Features:
• Citation tools
• Search history
Other Helpful Databases
These resources cover a variety of topics and may be useful in your search.
- Academic Search Ultimate• Giant database covering a variety of disciplines, including African American Studies
Features:
• PlumX Metrics (tracks citation, usage, and capture data for individual articles)
• Newswires
• Related images (when available) - America: History and Life• Index of literature covering the history and culture of the United States and Canada from prehistory to the present
• Indexing of over 1,800 journals from 1895 to the present
Features:
• Cited references
• Newswires - Biography Index Past and Present• Articles, books, and autobiographies for biographical subjects from antiquity to the present
• A trusted, biographical resource
• Over a million article and book citations
• Retrospective coverage from Biography Index back to its first publication in 1946
• Coverage of present-day news-makers
Features:
• Newswires
• Advanced search - Daily Life Through History• Full of primary sources, encyclopedia entries, and more
Features:
• Search tips
• Topic center - Ethnic NewsWatchA collection of the newspapers, magazines and journals of the ethnic, minority and native press in America.
- Gale Primary Sources• Great source for primary sources from books, pamphlets, newspapers, and more
Features:
• Topic finder
• Term frequency - GenderWatch• Focuses on the impact of gender across a broad spectrum of subject areas
• Academic and scholarly journals, magazines, newspapers, newsletters, regional publications, books, booklets, pamphlets, conference proceedings, government, NGO and special reports, some of which are available full text
Features:
• Citation tool
• Citation maps
• Save your recent searches - JSTOR• Provides full-text backfiles of many of the core research and society published journals in economics, business, history, political science, and sociology.
Features:
• Text Analyzer
• Thesaurus - World Folklore and Folklife• Explores folklore holiday traditions, festivals, language, stories, and fairy tales, proverbs, food traditions, and folk remedies that define our society and our place within it
• Mostly encyclopedic and dictionary entries on figures but, depending on your topic, original tales, multimedia, maps, and/or other miscellaneous resources are available
• Articles are available on some broader topics such as “oral tradition” or “Arab folklore”
Features:
• Related Resources provide materials such as pictures and websites related to your current inquiry
• Good for a broad search of a subject. Not great for searching an obscure folk term, but the Browse capability is easy to use
Subjects: Africana Studies
- Last Updated: Nov 14, 2024 12:39 PM
- URL: https://libguides.gvsu.edu/aas
