STA 301 - Questionnaire Design/Execution: Home
Winter 2023
When you set out to design a survey, sometimes you really do have to start from scratch. But sometimes you don't have to reinvent the wheel without a little bit of inspiration. This guide includes some pointers to possible sources of existing questionnaires and surveys.
Course Text and other resources
Designing and Constructing Instruments for Social Research and Evaluation by Call Number: eBookISBN: 0787998087Publication Date: 2007-08-13Written in easy-to-understand language, this important text provides a systematic and commonsense approach to developing instruments for data collection and analysis. This book provides a thorough presentation of instrument construction, from conception to development and pre-testing of items, formatting the instrument, administration, and, finally, data management and presentation of the findings. The authors emphasize how to create an instrument that will produce trustworthy and accurate data, including guidelines for reviewing and revising the questionnaire to enhance validity and reliability.
Related resources available from the GVSU Libraries:
Designing Surveys : a guide to decisions and procedures by Call Number: STEELCASE ASRS - HA31.2 .C93 2014ISBN: 9781412997348Publication Date: 2013-04-17
Survey Research Methods, 4th ed. by Call Number: e-bookISBN: 9781452259000Publication Date: 2013-09-18
The practice of survey research : theory and applications by Call Number: eBookISBN: 9781483391700Publication Date: 2016
- More books on survey research and questionnaire design in the GV LibrariesPrint books and eBooks are included
- Sage Research Methods This link opens in a new windowSage Research Methods is the ultimate methods library with more than 1000 books, reference works, journal articles, and instructional videos by world-leading academics from across the social sciences, including the largest collection of qualitative methods books available online from any scholarly publisher. The site is designed to guide users to the content they need to learn a little or a lot about their method. The Methods Map can help those less familiar with research methods to find the best technique to use in their research. Built upon Sage’s legacy of methods publishing, is the essential online tool for researchers.
Some websites with surveys
- American Time Use Survey (ATUS) - Bureau of Labor Statistics"The American Time Use Survey (ATUS) measures the amount of time people spend doing various activities, such as paid work, childcare, volunteering, and socializing."
Explore!
Or, go direct to: ATUS Survey Documentation --ATUS Questionnaires - General Social Survey"The GSS contains a standard 'core' of demographic, behavioral, and attitudinal questions, plus topics of special interest. Many of the core questions have remained unchanged since 1972 to facilitate time-trend studies as well as replication of earlier findings. The GSS takes the pulse of America, and is a unique and valuable resource. It has tracked the opinions of Americans over the last four decades."
The GSS survey is very long, and the data files are huge and require SPSS or SAS.
Explore!
Or, go directly to GSS Questionnaires and other documentation. - Pew Research Center"Numbers, Facts and Trends Shaping Your World"
Use the search box in the upper right corner of the Pew Research.org site to enter some keywords, and Explore!
Or, begin with a "Survey Question Search" on the Tools and Resources page
Results can link you back to the section for the original survey project; information there usually includes a link to the complete survey instrument for the project, along with the final project report.
Find surveys in journal literature
- ERIC This link opens in a new windowSubject area: Education The ERIC (Educational Resources Information Center) database is sponsored by the U.S. Department of Education. ERIC provides access to journal articles, conferences, meetings, government documents, theses, dissertations, reports, audiovisual media, bibliographies, directories, and books.
Search tips:
* In your search, include PT=160 -- this narrows the search to matches that include tests/questionnaires as a "publication type." - Psycinfo This link opens in a new windowSubject area: Psychology
Journal articles, book chapters, books, dissertations, reports, and other documents from all over the world in both English and foreign languages in the field of psychology and related disciplines such as education, criminology, psychiatry, social work, medicine, and law, back to 1887.
Search tips:
* Enter 1-2 keywords expressing your general subject area
* Scroll down to More Search Options, and find Tests and Measures; enter: question* OR survey* - HAPI (Health & Psychosocial Instruments) This link opens in a new windowSubject area: Mental and physical health diagnostics
Information on tools for clinicians and where to find them. It covers such tools as questionnaires, interview schedules, tests, checklists, rating and other scales, coding schemes, and projective techniques in the areas of health sciences, psychology and social sciences. - Data Citation Index This link opens in a new windowDiscover research data, including data studies, data sets from a wide range of international data repositories and connect them with the scientific literature to track data citation. Coverage from 1900 to present.
- Web of Science This link opens in a new windowA multidisciplinary resource that allows you to search 5 different databases at once: Web of Science, Current Contents Connect, BIOSIS Previews, MEDLINE, and Journal Citation Reports. Find journal articles, books, conference proceedings, reports, and tables of contents.
Search tips:
* Most valuable for discovering methodologies, references to instruments used or modified, and contact information for authors.
* A very large database, narrowing to relevant hits can be difficult.
Find surveys by Googling
Google can be a productive tool for finding examples of surveys and questionnaires, with a little know-how...
- Use a few keywords that express the general topic you're looking for
- Also include word(s) or phrase(s) such as questionnaire, sample survey, satisfaction survey
- You can include the site: operator depending on the nature of your topic: site:.edu OR site:.org OR site:.gov
- Or, try the intitle: or allintitle: operator to specify words that must all occur in the title of a match
For examples:
unitarian demographics survey site:.org
intitle: unitarian demographics survey
Full list of Google Operators - May 2020
Try these here:
Subject Librarian
Beginners Guide to Qualtrics Video
- Sage - Beginners Guide to QualtricsBen Siu, Lecturer in Marketing at the University of Plymouth, introduces and demonstrates how to use Qualtrics, an online survey platform with a comprehensive set of tools for designing questionnaires.
Subjects: Course Guides, Statistics
- Last Updated: Nov 8, 2023 3:48 PM
- URL: https://libguides.gvsu.edu/sta301questionnaires
