- University Libraries
- Subject Guides
- Athletic Training
- Articles/Databases
Athletic Training: Articles/Databases
Guide for students, faculty, and alumni of the GVSU Athletic Training program
Information Resources
- PubMedPubMed, a service of the National Library of Medicine, is a publicly available online database of biomedical and medical journal records. It includes MEDLINE content.
- CINAHL Complete This link opens in a new windowThis database provides access to health science literature related to nursing and allied health disciplines. In addition, it includes standards of practice and evidence-based care guidelines.
- SPORTDiscus with Full TextCovers journals, popular sources, book chapters, books, dissertations, theses, and conference proceedings in sport and fitness literature as well as related disciplines like sport and exercise science; physical education; occupational and recreational therapy; human movement studies; sport management and medicine; sport and exercise psychology; biomechanics; sport law; training; and coaching. Some coverage dates back to 1800 and many sources include full text.
- PEDroPEDro is a database of evidence-based randomized controlled trials and systematic reviews in the field of physiotherapy. Most trials on the database have been rated using a scale for those trials which are the most valid and those which are not.
- Sports Medicine and Exercise Science in VideoWith more than 350 videos, Sports Medicine and Exercise Science features an array of internationally renowned physicians, exercise scientists, certified athletic trainers, physical therapists, registered dietitians, sport psychologists, personal trainers, and health/wellness experts who share information, ideas, and insights on the principles, techniques, and modalities of modern exercise science and sports medicine.
- Access PhysiotherapyAccess Physiotherapy from McGraw-Hill Medical is devoted exclusively to the study, instruction, and practice of physical therapy – with groundbreaking content for today’s PT. Updated regularly, this comprehensive online physiotherapy resource integrates leading physical therapy textbooks, procedure and exercise videos, image galleries, self-assessment tools, and a unique cadaver dissection tool –optimized for viewing on any device.
- Access PhysiotherapyAccess Physiotherapy from McGraw-Hill Medical is devoted exclusively to the study, instruction, and practice of physical therapy – with groundbreaking content for today’s PT. Updated regularly, this comprehensive online physiotherapy resource integrates leading physical therapy textbooks, procedure and exercise videos, image galleries, self-assessment tools, and a unique cadaver dissection tool –optimized for viewing on any device.
- Anatomy TVAnatomy TV enables you to rotate a 360 degree view of the human body in 15 layers. Anatomy is labeled making this an excellent tool for studying anatomy.
- Visible Body - Web SuiteVisible Body gives you access to 3D visual and interactive content to learn about human anatomy, general physiology, common illnesses, and introductory biology topics. First time users must create an account. This resource also offers a mobile app, you can download the app here: https://ovid.visiblebody.com/mobile/
- Lexicomp OnlineLexicomp Online provides point-of-care drug information, including dosing, administration, warnings and precautions, as well as clinical content, such as clinical practice guidelines, and other tools. The platform includes 13 databases, 7 clinical support modules, and “Facts & Comparisons” for additional comparative information.
- DynaMedA clinical reference tool created by physicians for physicians and other health care professionals for use at the point-of-care. Includes clinically-organized summaries for more than 3,200 topics, and provides the latest content and resources with validity, relevance and convenience.
- STAT!RefThis e-Book database contains top medical reference books and other resources. It should be your first stop for background information or for an overview. It includes CPT, ICD-9 and -10, AHFS Drug Information, Tabor's Medical Dictionary, and Essential Evidence Plus.
- Rehabilitation Measures DatabaseMeasures and assessments (some free) from Shirley Ryan AbilityLab.
- DiTA: Diagnostic Test Accuracy DatabaseDiTA a free database that indexes primary studies of diagnostic test accuracy and systematic reviews of diagnostic test accuracy studies related to physiotherapy practice. DiTA has been designed to enable clinicians, researchers and patients to easily access information on the accuracy of diagnostic tests used by physiotherapists. For each indexed study or review, DiTA provides citation details, abstracts and links to full-text. DiTA is produced by the PEDro Partnership (Institute for Musculoskeletal Health, School of Public Health at The University of Sydney) and is hosted by Neuroscience Research Australia (NeuRA).
- PsycinfoPsycinfo, produced by the American Psychological Association, provides access to journal articles, book chapters, books, dissertations, reports, and other documents from all over the world in both English and foreign languages in the field of psychology and related disciplines such as education, criminology, psychiatry, social work, medicine, and law, back to 1887.
- Education SourceProvides scholarly research for education students, professionals, and policy makers. Covers all levels of education from early childhood to higher education. Covers specialties such as multilingual education, health education, and testing.
- ERICThe ERIC (Educational Resources Information Center) database is sponsored by the U.S. Department of Education. ERIC provides access to journal articles, conferences, meetings, government documents, theses, dissertations, reports, audiovisual media, bibliographies, directories, and books.
- HAPI (Health & Psychosocial Instruments)HAPI (Health and Psychosocial Instruments) includes information on tools for clinicians and where to find them. It covers such tools as questionnaires, interview schedules, tests, checklists, rating and other scales, coding schemes, and projective techniques in the areas of health sciences, psychology and social sciences. There are ten concurrent users for this database.
Finding Full Text
Many databases include the full text articles. When that happens, you should see a link to an HTML or PDF document. If you do not see that link, you should see another option for finding the full text, for example: "Get it @ GVSU", "Get full text", "Check for full text", "Request from Document Delivery". Click on the link and follow the prompts. In some cases, you may need to click on the article title to see the PDF link or other options.
If you run into any issues or land on a screen that indicates you have to pay for the article, ask us for help!
- Chat (Click on the "Ask A Question" button for chat, text, and phone options)
- Librarians
- Finding "Cited By" ArticlesHave you found a great article and want to see if other researchers have cited it? Follow the steps in this guide.
- Finding Articles in a Specific JournalUse this guide if you want to search a particular journal or if you have a citation and need to find the full text. You can also use these same steps if the "Get It@GVSU" button doesn't work.
- Using Google ScholarThis guide shows you how to set up Google Scholar to connect to the GVSU Libraries, which will make it easier to find the full text. It also includes information on how to find newer articles that cite an older one you may have found in your searching.
- Document DeliveryCan't find the article online? Order it through our document delivery service. Article requests are usually filled within 2-3 days but may occasionally take up to one week. Once articles are received, you will be notified via email that your item has been delivered electronically to your document delivery account. Log in with your regular GVSU username and password to get started!
Subjects: Athletic Training
- Last Updated: Oct 7, 2024 11:55 AM
- URL: https://libguides.gvsu.edu/AT
