Arabic: Databases
Current Newspapers
- Global Newsstream This link opens in a new windowGlobal Newsstream enables users to search the most recent global news content, as well as archives which stretch back into the 1980s featuring content from newspapers, newswires, and news sites in active full-text format. This product provides one of the largest collections of news from the U.S., Canada, Europe, Africa, Asia, Latin America, and Australia. All titles are cross-searchable on the ProQuest platform allowing researchers easy access to multiple perspectives, resources, and languages on the topic they are researching.
- Ethnic NewsWatch This link opens in a new windownewspapers, magazines, & journals from ethnic minorities in America
Islamic Studies & Languages databases
- Linguistics and Language Behavior Abstracts (LLBA) This link opens in a new windowLinguistics and Language Behavior Abstracts (LLBA) contains abstracts and indexing for articles, books, and other scholarly materials related to linguistics and its sub-disciplines. Coverage is from 1973 to the present.
- MLA International Bibliography with Full Text This link opens in a new windowarticles on languages, literature, linguistics, & folklore
- Literature Criticism Online This link opens in a new windowLiterature Criticism Online includes full-text biographical and critical essays on major poets, playwrights, novelists and other writing through history and across language. Emphasis is on western authors writing in English. All materials come from the Gale Literature Criticism series.
- Literature Online This link opens in a new windowLiterature Online provides full-text, searchable access to a wide range of English language literary works, criticism, and reference sources. Robust searching allows users to find authors by nationality, ethnicity, movement and period.
- Literature Resource Center This link opens in a new windowLiterature Resource Center includes full text access to a wide range of sources for literary research, including peer-reviewed journal articles, book reviews, biographical and topical overview essays and poetry and short fiction from contemporary literary magazines.
Finding Articles
Databases allow you to look for articles. Databases usually have a citation (information about an article such as the title, author, name of the journal or magazine the article appeared in, volume and issue, date, and pages) and sometimes they will also contain an abstract, or summary, of the article.
Databases also often have information about other types of resources - books, essays or chapters, government documents, etc.
Some databases will also have the articles themselves (called the full text of the article). When that happens, you should see a link to an HTML or PDF document. If you do not see a link, click on 
- this will check the other library databases for the full text of the article.
General Databases
Are you having trouble finding articles? Try these more general databases.
- WorldCat This link opens in a new windowUse this database to search for books, videos, plays, etc., that libraries around the world own. Use the "Get it @ GVSU" option within records to request items through document delivery.
- Last Updated: Apr 16, 2024 1:09 PM
- URL: https://libguides.gvsu.edu/arabic
