The University of Pennsylvania's list of resources on African and African American Studies.

Census information on minority and ethnic populations in the U.S.

List of resources on African American studies compiled by the University of California.

Focuses on African American performers and composers and on the vocal music forms they influenced, especially opera, art songs and spirituals composed for concert performance.

From the Library of Congress

Includes artist overviews and timelines from reputable Harvard scholars

Rich collection featuring concert posters/fliers and other resources

Focuses on the New Orleans hip hop and rap scene

Curated by the University of Houston

A list of the '10 Best Black Podcasts' provided by Best Colleges.

Listing of leaders from the arts, business, public service, science, sports, and more. Includes interviews, background facts, and videos.

From the Library of Congress, information about the early national period through the twentieth century.

Digital collection of 800-plus speeches and writings, including some 1,000 editorials, by African American abolitionists from the antebellum period.

A collection of historical articles and images from Harper's Weekly

The largest free website on African American history currently online. Contributed articles are reviewed by a board of scholarly advisors and cover a variety of topics.

This digital collection of primary sources includes sound and video recordings, photographs, and documents.

A digital publishing initiative that provides Internet access to texts, images, and audio files related to Southern history, literature, and culture from the University of North Carolina.

Collection of articles on famous figures and events in African American history

Biographical information and contributions of African American men and women in chemistry, biology, engineering, and mathematics.

Presents a wealth of archival treasures and scholarship from Columbia about the history of one of the world's most influential neighborhoods.

The nation's largest African American video oral history archive

Interactive maps showing redlining-- the practice of grading neighborhoods to reinforce housing discrimination. Includes GR!!

Information from the institute at Stanford University

Find videos and information about historical and contemporary individuals featured in PBS programming through the years.

From Emory University, a collection of photos from the 1840's- 1980's

Compiled by Emory University, this site contains essays, estimates, maps and other resources related to the slave trade.

A national collection of digital materials—images, videos, books, and more. Materials displayed in Umbra are provided by libraries, museums, and other repositories around the country.

Images and documents from this era in African American history.