WRT 150: Articles/Databases
GVSU Library Tutorials
Starting points for finding articles in library databases
- Academic Search Ultimate This link opens in a new windowAn excellent source to use if you don't know where to begin your search. Allows you to limit your search to scholarly/peer reviewed publications.
- JSTOR This link opens in a new windowJSTOR has the core journals in most academic disciplines. It has retrospective coverage: everything from the first issue published up to 3-5 years ago.
- Ethnic NewsWatch This link opens in a new windowA collection of the newspapers, magazines and journals of the ethnic, minority and native press in America. Searchable in both English and Spanish, with titles in both languages.
- Project Muse This link opens in a new windowComprehensive database of prestigious humanities and social science journals.
Databases allow you to search for articles about your topic. They show you information about an article: the title, author, and name of the journal or magazine the article appeared in. This is called the citation. Some databases also contain an abstract, or summary, of the article.
Many databases also include the articles themselves (called the full text of the article). When that happens, you should see a link to an HTML or PDF document. If you do not see that link, you should see another option for finding the full text, for example: "Get it @ GVSU", "Get full text", "Check for full text", "Request from Document Delivery". Click on the link and follow the prompts. In some cases, you may need to click on the article title to see the PDF link or other options.
If you run into any issues or land on a screen that indicates you have to pay for the article, ask us for help!
- Chat (Click on the "Ask A Question" button for chat, text, and phone options)
Some databases also have information about other types of resources: sometimes they have information about books, book chapters, government documents, and other things.
Starting points for topics or current issues
- CQ Researcher This link opens in a new windowProvides in-depth coverage and analysis of current issues.
- Opposing Viewpoints in Context This link opens in a new windowProvides authoritative and credible facts and insights via articles, research reports, videos, and statistics on the most-debated political and social issues.
- TED Talks ChannelsTED Talks, TEDx Youth, TED en Español, TED Translators, TED-Ed, TED Fellows, TED Partners
- ProCon.org : Pros and Cons of Controversial IssuesPromoting critical thinking, education, and informed citizenship by presenting controversial issues in a straightforward, nonpartisan, primarily pro-con format.
Starting Points for Pop Culture Topics
- Journal of Popular CultureEssays and book reviews on popular culture in all areas of the arts, humanities, social sciences and physical sciences.
- Magazine AmericanaFeatures short, op-ed pieces and longer, in-depth articles on every aspect of American popular culture.
- American HeritageFocuses on American history, presenting essays on topics relating to events in U.S. history.
- Studies on Popular CultureProvides contributions to a critical understanding of popular culture and its history.
- Studies in Popular CultureDiscusses aspect of American or international, contemporary or historical, popular culture.
- Last Updated: Mar 28, 2023 7:56 AM
- URL: https://libguides.gvsu.edu/writing150