Instant guide to history, politics and economic backgrounds

Info on history, people, government, economy, geography, communications, transportation, military, and transnational issues.

Quick facts about African nations. Includes links to more info.

Database with a wealth of information on nations. Includes data on population, customs, lifestyles, politics as well data on development. Don't forget to listen to the national anthems!

Highly detailed histories and studies of African nations.

One of the longest-established specialist publications on Africa, with a considerable reputation for being first with in-depth news and analysis on significant political, economic and security developments across the continent. Not all articles are available for free-- look for the "free" icon.

Security affects every facet of life, and the Africa Center for Strategic Studies (sponsored by the U.S. Department of Defense) provides scholars a place to find programs, publications, and share information.

The University of Pennsylvania's list of helpful web sources covering Africa.

Wide variety of high-quality scholarly materials ranging from digitized historical documents to 3D models and reference works. Great for historical research.

Stanford's collection of sites containing information about Africa. Search by country name or research topic (very helpful!).

The world's largest collection of peer-reviewed, African-published scholarly journals. If you cannot access an article, see if GVSU has access by searching for that journal on the library website ("Find"=> "Magazines and Journals").

Research that measures the social, political, and economic atmosphere in Africa.

contains information about international economic development assistance, dating back to 1947

Information about the slave trade from primary sources

Search UNICEF data on a variety of topics, or by country

Two databases covering Africana literature and African women's literature and a comprehensive bibliography on women travelers to Africa.

Resources from the Smithsonian's collection

Look up AIDS stats by county and across time. Interactive map feature includes a look a what countries have done to stem the epidemic.

Quick list of AIDS prevalence among nations