Digital Humanities: Projects
Projects at GVSU
Veterans History Project
Started in 2006, the Veterans History Project is a collaboration between the GVSU History Department and the University Libraries Special Collections and University Archives to collect oral histories from local war veterans. Now hosting and digitizing over 1,200 interviews and other artifacts such as diaries, letters, and home videos, you can find out more about the project and how to contribute.
Gi-gikinomaage-min Project
Newly funded in 2013 by the NEH, the Gi-gikinomaage-min Project is the brainchild of the Kutsche Office of Local History, working with the Native American Advisory Board, the Office of Multicultural Affairs, Special Collections and University Archives, and local-area heritage centers to document the experience of urban Native Americans. You can follow their progress on the Kutsche Office's website.
Young Lords Collection
The Young Lords Collection - which documents the historic movement through over 110 interviews, historical papers, photographs, and more - was started by a GVSU student for the Summer Scholar Institute. You can view this work, and contribute to it, at https://www.gvsu.edu/younglords.
Well-known Projects
- Transcribe Bentham
Award-winning project out of University College London, which transcribed and made thousands of historical documents of Jeremy Bentham available through crowd-sourcing digitization. - The Walt Whitman Archive
Created by Kenneth Price and Ed Folsom, this project has created a comprehensive digital archives of Walt Whitman's works for teaching and researching. - HyperCities
HyperCities uses Google Maps and Google Earth, geospatial mapping and 3D modeling, to create interactive, multimedia collections for users to explore different cities through history. - PressForward
PressForward is an initiative out of the Roy Rosenzweig Center to enable users to communicate, curate, and publish scholarly work online. - TEI By Example
Provides tutorials and instruction on TEI, or Text Encoding Initiative, itself a project to develop coding standards for marking up documents and computer-enabled textual analysis - Digital Art History DirectoryThe Digital Art History Directory (DAHD) is an open-access publication containing a database of digital art history projects and information on data sources, best practices in Digital Art History project construction, preservation, and web archiving. Intended to be the largest, most comprehensive, and inclusive collection of information on Digital Art History and to function as a tool and living resource, rather than a static publication, the DAHD provides a platform for discovery, sharing, and research of Digital Art History.
Doing Digital Studies & Humanities
Looking for inspiration for your next digital humanities or digital studies project? You can find exciting work happening in multiple disciplines around the world, and at GVSU. When thinking about planning your own project, check out Lisa Spiro's "Getting Started" tips on her Digital Humanities blog and this guide from the University of Nebraska's Center for Digital Research in the Humanities - "Best Practices for Digital Humanities Projects."
Funding for Digital Studies
In addition to finding funding here, you can find more of the latest and greatest DH projects through these sources:
- National Endowment for the Humanities
- Andrew W. Mellon Foundation
- MacArthur Foundation - Digital Media and Learning Initiative
- Alfred P. Sloan Foundation - Digital Information Technology
- American Council of Learned Societies - Digital Innovation Fellowship
- Last Updated: Sep 1, 2023 12:28 PM
- URL: https://libguides.gvsu.edu/dh
