CIS 661 - Introduction to Health Informatics and Bioinformatics: Links to databases

A guide to library resources relevant to health informatics and bioinformatics methods and techniques involved in the integration of computer systems in medical centers and life science industries.

For best results ...

For best results when searching a database, use subject headings in addition to keyword searching. Subject headings are a set of terms or phrases (known as controlled vocabulary) that classify materials regardless of the terms used by authors. Essentially subject headings identify and pull together under a common umbrella information about a given subject. Subject headings also help accommodate differences in spelling (for example, orthopedic versus orthopaedic, fetal versus foetal). Unlike keyword searching, subject terms are searched for only in the subject field. Most online catalogs and databases use some form of subject headings. In some databases subject headings are listed in the database's thesaurus. Sometimes they're called descriptors. in PubMed, they're called MeSH (medical subject headings).

Also, when you're in a database, do not click on the full text limiter. Why? We have thousands of journals available in our databases, but when you limit your results to full text, you'll retrieve just those items that "reside" in the database you're searching. Not restricting your results to full text will enable the "get it @ GVSU" icon to appear, which will provide the ability to retrieve articles in other databases or, if we don't have the journal, a seamless way to request a copy via (free!) Document Delivery.

Medical & Health Science Databases

For a quick definition --

Need a quick definition? Try Credo Reference. Credo Reference features content from hundreds of dictionaries, encyclopedias, and other reference books in a broad range of subjects including medical and bioinformatics, computational informatics, and related terms.

Helpful guides

  • Last Updated: May 22, 2024 1:43 PM
  • URL: https://libguides.gvsu.edu/cis661