HNR 263, Introduction to Human Rights - Zivi: Home
Individual Newspapers & News Magazines
This includes just a small selection of the newspapers and news magazines that GVSU has access to through library databases. This list also includes some websites for news sources. If the title you're looking for isn't on this list, search the Find Journals page on the GVSU Libraries website. We may have different versions of these titles (e.g. the Asian edition of the Wall Street Journal) or access through multiple databases (e.g. the New York Times).
News Databases
- Global NewsstreamGlobal Newsstream enables users to search the most recent global news content, as well as archives which stretch back into the 1980s from newspapers, newswires, and news sites around the world.
- Ethnic NewsWatchSearch newspapers, magazines and journals of the ethnic, minority and native press in America, including Spanish titles.
- Chicago Tribune (1985-current)Full page and article images with searchable full text.
Policy Statements & Government Reports
These are just a few of the potential sources for policy statements and government reports. Also check Columbia International Affairs Online (CIAO), listed in the database section.
- United NationsScroll to the bottom of the page to the list of Issues and Campaigns.
- USA.govSearch across U.S. government websites.
- ProQuest CongressionalComprehensive source for Congressional research and activity from 1789-present. Includes committee prints and hearings, legislative histories, the Congressional Record, the Serial Set, Executive Orders, Presidential Proclamations, and CRS Reports.
Individual Scholarly Journals
These are a few of the human rights focused scholarly journals available from GVSU.
- Human Rights Quarterly (1995 - Present)Additional years available from other sources.
Subject Databases
- Columbia International Affairs Online (CIAO)International affairs database with working papers, journal articles, books, policy papers and more from a wide variety of sources. Most of the resources in this database are available full text.
- International Political Science AbstractsThe library's main political science database. An excellent source for finding scholarly political science and international relations articles.
- PAIS InternationalOne of the library's top international relations and foreign affairs databases. This database covers scholarly and trade journals, books and publications from governments and NGOs.
- JSTORFull text of each title included, all the way back to the first issue.
- HeinOnline Government, Politics, and LawHeinOnline’s Government, Politics, and Law provides comprehensive coverage of more than 2,000 periodicals. In addition the journals, the database also contains the Congressional Record, complete coverage of the U.S. Reports back to 1754, constitutions for every country in the world, classic books from the 18th & 19th centuries, all United States Treaties, the Federal Register, Code of Federal Regulations and more.
- ProQuest Political ScienceCovers the literature of political science and international relations, including such topics as comparative politics, political economy, international development, environmental policy, and hundreds of related topics. Includes 430 full text journals, dissertations and country information. Coverage is from 1985-present.
- Worldwide Political Science AbstractsProvides citations, abstracts, and indexing of the international serials literature in political science and its complementary fields, including international relations, law, and public administration / policy. Coverage is from 1975-present.
Librarian
Subjects: Honors College, Political Science
- Last Updated: May 22, 2024 1:26 PM
- URL: https://libguides.gvsu.edu/c.php?g=744019
