Library Resources for Social Innovation: Databases
Finding Articles
Databases allow you to look for articles. How do you identify a scholarly article? Check out this cool page! Databases usually have a citation (information about an article such as the title, author, name of the journal or magazine the article appeared in, volume and issue, date, and pages) and sometimes they will also contain an abstract, or summary, of the article.
Databases also often have information about other types of resources - books, essays or chapters, government documents, etc.
Some databases will also have the articles themselves (called the full text of the article). When that happens, you should see a link to an HTML or PDF document. If you do not see a link, click on the "Get it at GVSU" button.
Social Innovation Databases
Below I've listed databases that may be helpful for social innovation topics. Keep in mind that depending on your topic, databases in other disciplines might be useful in addition to searching the main library search box at the very top of this page. In order to see a list of databases by subject, go to the library homepage, then click 'databases'.
- Access World News This link opens in a new windowThis comprehensive news collection is ideal for exploring issues and events at the local, regional, national and international level. Its diverse source types include print and online-only newspapers, blogs, newswires, journals, broadcast transcripts and videos. Use it to explore a specific event or to compare a wide variety of viewpoints on topics such as politics, business, health, sports, cultural activities and people. Includes archival access to the Houston Chronicle, Muskegon Chronicle, San Francisco Chronicle, Miami Herald, Atlanta Journal, Dallas Morning News, and more.
- Business Source Ultimate This link opens in a new windowComprehensive information on all aspects of business related topics and 55 videos from the Harvard Business School Faculty Seminar Series. The database features company SWOT analyses and market research reports. Country reports are included in this database. This version of the resource is hosted on a specially designed interface for this content.
- GreenFILE This link opens in a new windowGreenFILE searches for information in all areas related to the human impact on the environment. Some examples of topics covered: global warming, green building, pollution, sustainable agriculture, renewable energy and recycling. Information available includes articles, government information, books, and book reviews.
- Points of View Reference Center This link opens in a new windowContaining resources that present multiple sides of an issue, this database provides rich content that can help students assess and develop persuasive arguments and essays, better understand controversial issues and develop analytical thinking skills.
- Public Administration Abstracts This link opens in a new windowProvides abstracts for the field of Public Administration, including research and theory. Records are selected from many of the leading periodicals in the discipline, including Public Administration Review, Public Administration Quarterly, and International Journal of Public Administration.
- ProQuest One Business (formerly ProQuest Business Premium) This link opens in a new windowThe most comprehensive business offering, with global coverage in business and economics, the collection features thousands of full-text journals, dissertations, and working papers, as well as trade publications, market research reports, and key periodicals such as the Wall Street Journal, Financial Times, and Economist. ProQuest One Business combines multiple ProQuest business information databases including the ABI/INFORM collection.
- Sage Journals This link opens in a new windowSage Complete allows you to find full-text articles in journals published by Sage in the fields of communications, criminology, education, health sciences, materials science, management, political science, psychology, sociology, and urban studies, from 1879 to the present.
- Social Sciences Citation Index This link opens in a new windowFind journal articles in the social sciences. Over 50 different subject areas covered including: anthropology, history, law, philosophy, political science, psychology, and social work. Use the citation maps feature to find out who has been citing an article. 1956-present.
- SocINDEX with Full Text This link opens in a new windowCovers sociology and other aspects of the social sciences and may be useful in locating information in related areas like anthropology; criminology; and ethnic, racial, and gender studies. Author Profiles support identifying areas of expertise or focus of authors. Coverage dates back to 1895 for some journals and full text is available for a large percentage of sources.
Questions? Ask Me!
- Last Updated: Oct 26, 2023 10:44 AM
- URL: https://libguides.gvsu.edu/socialinnovation
