Subject Guides: Library Resources for Social Innovation: Policy

Library Resources for Social Innovation: Policy

These databases are subscribed to by GVSU's library. They are also accessible from the Database link on the library's homepage.

CQ Press Political Reference Suite
Provides access to all of the library's online Congressional Quarterly resources, which provide coverage of U.S. government and politics, foreign affairs and current events. Covered resources include CQ Weekly, CQ Researcher, CQ Almanac, Local Stats, State Stats, U.S. Political Stats, Supreme Court Yearbook, and more.
Contains:
-Washington Information Directory- includes listing of NGOs
-Congress and the Nation Series 1945-2004
-Historic Documents Series 1972-2005
-Political Handbook of the World 2005-2006
-CQ's Politics in America 2006
-Supreme Court Yearbook Series 1989-2005
-Vital Statistics on American Politics 2005-2006
CQ Researcher
Provides access to concise reports on a wide variety of topics and issues of current interest. Reports provide an overview of the topic, including background information and an assessment of the current situation, balanced coverage of differing viewpoints and a bibliography of key sources.
iPOLL This link opens in a new window
iPOLL is One-stop shopping for academic, commercial, and media polls in the U.S. with search tools designed specifically for survey questions. Users can View various questions to better understand Americans' views.

City Codes
Congress.gov for Federal Legislation
Data on Michigan Counties
Federal Government's Portal: FDSYS
Government Printing Office's source for Bills, Legislative Histories, Public Law, Statutes at Large, the U.S. Code and the Constitution.
GovTrack
Use this source to find information about the histories of laws or Bills that have yet to become Law.
Michigan's Legislature
Michigan bills and compiled laws.
All States and Local Government

Westlaw
Covers state and federal case law and statutes and regulations, the Code of Federal Regulations. Federal Register, American Jurisprudence 2nd, American Law Reports and law reviews.

Here are two tools you can use to find the citation of an act. This will make it easier to find the laws in the various databases.

U.S. Code Popular Name Tool: free government tool to help you find citations, which makes finding the actual laws easier.
Popular Names of Acts in the U.S. Code: Cornell's Legal Information Institute's list of popular names.

Subjects: Social Innovation

Tags: social innovation