Subject Guides: Chinese: Articles/Databases

Chinese: Articles/Databases

Guide to Chinese language resources

China Academic Journals
The China Academic Journals database contains full-text articles on Chinese literature, history, and philosophy. Most articles are presented in Chinese simplified characters; although some content is in English, this database is primarily for researchers and students comfortable reading and searching in Chinese.

China National Knowledge Database
Search for journal articles published in China. Search across disciplines or by subject area. Content in English and Chinese.
Taiwan Electronic Periodical Services
Search for articles from Taiwan, Mainland China or the U.S. Free membership required to download articles. Content in Chinese.
Hong Kong Macau Periodicals Index
Maintained by the Chinese University of Hong Kong, this index provides citations and some full text to academic journals published in Hong Kong from 1990-present. Content in Chinese and English.
Hong Kong Journals Online
Full-text database providing access to academic and professional journals published in Hong Kong. Titles included cover a wide range of disciplines. Issues included in this database vary from journal to journal with the earliest going back to 1872. Content in English and Chinese.
Index to Taiwan Periodical Literature System 臺灣期刊論文索引系統
Index of over 4,000 periodicals held by the National Central Library in Taiwan. Journals included are primarily published in Taiwan, Hong Kong, and Macao. Some full text available. Content in Chinese.

If you are unable to find the full-text version of an article after searching GVSU's holdings, please try the following:

GVSU Interlibrary Loan
Click on the link, log in using your GVSU information and then complete the request form as completely as possible.
East Asian Gateway Article Service
If GVSU's interlibrary loan department is unable to access a Chinese academic journal article, this service will help connect you. This service is intended to be a "last resort." Please be sure to read the user guide.

MLA International Bibliography with Full Text
modern languages, literature, linguistics, and folklore; searchable in English and Chinese
Literature Online
literature & criticism
Literature Resource Center
includes traditional literary reference works, critical information on authors and their works, current journal articles and additional resources.
Linguistics and Language Behavior Abstracts (LLBA)
searchable in English and Chinese

Subjects: Chinese, Modern Languages