- University Libraries
- Subject Guides
- Classics
- Library Databases
Classics: Library Databases
Guide to finding Classics resources
When would you use these?
Use library databases to:
- find articles about a specific topic
- get full text access to some Classics books
- search specialized subscription databases
Classics databases
- Loeb Classical LibraryAccess the entire Loeb Classical Library online here. Search hundreds of Greek and Latin works in translation. These digital texts are identical to their print counterparts.
- Année PhilologiqueL'Annèe Philologique is the best database to use for Classics research; it is multilingual and scholarly. It indexes publications for the years 1924 to about 3 years ago.
- Cambridge CompanionsIncludes full-text, scholarly reviewed essay anthologies in a range of topics. Best for searching particular authors, movements, eras and works. Use the search box that says "Search Cambridge Companions", not the search box at the top.
- JSTORHas full-text backfiles of key academic journals in Classics and other topics.
- Thesaurus Linguae Graecae (TLG)Digitized versions of most literary texts written in Greek from Homer to the fall of Byzantium in AD 1453. YOU MUST CLICK LOG IN TO create an account with a username and password to search this database.
- Classics titles from Oxford Scholarly Editions OnlineFull text of selected classics texts, including 59 Latin prose works. After you choose a title, click the links under "Contents" to access text, then click links on left side.
- Oxford Reference OnlineBefore typing search, select subject specialization "Classical studies" below the search box if you want to limit your search to publications dealing with classics.
- Oxford Scholarship OnlineComplete text of over 1,800 Oxford books including Classical Studies titles.
- Brill's New JacobyA standard collection of the works of Greek historians whose works have survived only in fragmentary form. Includes English translations and abundant commentaries
- World Folklore and FolklifeA source for mythology and folklore.
- Anthropology PlusThe most comprehensive international resource for the fields of anthropology, archaeology, and related interdisciplinary research.
- AnthroSourceProvides a complete full-text archive of all peer-reviewed journals published by the American Anthropological Association.
Multiple resource search
Subject Guide
Subjects: Classics
- Last Updated: Dec 18, 2024 1:52 PM
- URL: https://libguides.gvsu.edu/classics
