Equity Library Collection: Home
A guide to showcase books, ebooks, and other resources that highlight diversity in STEM and Health Sciences and host resources on inclusion in academia.
Talk To Us!
Do you have a book, ebook, video, or other resource that highlights diversity in your field? We would love to know!
Voices in STEM
Changing the Equation by
A "lively" and inspiring look at some of the most important Black women in STEM from a Coretta Scott King Award winner--includes photos (Kirkus Reviews). Many Black women have changed the world of STEM (Science, Technology, Engineering, and Mathematics) in America. Including groundbreaking computer scientists, doctors, inventors, physicists, pharmacists, mathematicians, aviators, and many more, this book celebrates more than fifty women who have shattered the glass ceiling, defied racial discrimination, and pioneered in their fields. Meet a cybersecurity expert, a video game developer, a roboticist, an oncologist, and others. In these profiles, young readers will find role models, inspirations, and maybe even reasons to be the STEM leaders of tomorrow. These stories help young readers to dream big and stay curious. The book includes endnotes, a bibliography, and an index. "A master of the collective biography . . . impeccably researched."―School Library Journal (starred review)
ISBN: 9781683356295Publication Date: 2020-03-03
Empowering Women in STEM by
Women in STEM are constantly facing new challenges every day. By sharing their stories and the ways in which they already have and continue to overcome these hurdles, they can help others find the strength to persevere and succeed in these fields. This mix of authors from varying backgrounds all share the same passion - to encourage more women into STEM - and they have placed their proverbial hearts on their sleeves and documented their journeys to inspire readers to either enter or stay within STEM fields. Empowering Women in STEM: Personal Stories and Career Journeys from Around the World discusses the application process of root cause analysis and ways to introduce STEM to other generations. It offers an insider view of the armed forces and allows readers to gain more perspective on ways male advocates can help female colleagues in STEM fields. It includes a father's perspective on change within the engineering industry, how he's mentoring new female engineers, and ways to help them as they evolve. The book captures firsthand accounts of STEM professionals in various fields as they recount experiences that have helped them to navigate their own career paths. This book also demonstrates how life doesn't have to follow the timelines proposed by society and how females can become CEOs and command other top-level positions in engineering companies. In addition to having women from across the globe share their stories about various fields, readers will hear from both military and civilian male advocates who share ways to empower others within the industry. This book is written for professionals who may be considering a switch of career or deciding to leave STEM. It is also useful to university students who are trying to figure out their career choices and paths and gain more insight into possible career opportunities in STEM. Meet the Authors! http://strategicreliabilitysolutions.com/empowering-women-in-stem-personal-stories-and-career-journeys-from-around-the-world/
ISBN: 9781000822137Publication Date: 2022-12-21
Black Boys' Lived and Everyday Experiences in STEM by
Real and meaningful educational ethnography requires researchers to grapple with how they come to know what they know. In Black Boys' Lived and Everyday Experiences in STEM, KiMi Wilson invites us to understand the experiences of four Black boys attempting to learn mathematics and science in K-12 spaces. How do mitigating circumstances and fraught relationships impede on their journey to sharpening their mathematical and scientific skills? Taking us on a sociocultural trek of the best and worst elements of public education, Wilson provides access to a bird's eye view of how Black boys experience schooling on a day-to-day basis. Through phenomenological interview, readers are let into the minds of students Carter, Malik, Darius, and Thomas, and given the opportunity to understand how they identify themselves. Showcasing a mixture of revelations, we learn how some of their perceptions come from an authentic place, while others were out of their own control, and decided by individuals blind to their potential. Imagining a world where Black boys are encouraged to work on STEM goals rather than abandon them, this important book is for educators, researchers, teachers, administrators, and superintendents who want to create school cultures that value Black boys, and want to reimagine teaching spaces for them.
ISBN: 9781800439962Publication Date: 2021-09-27
Success Strategies from Women in STEM by
Success Strategies from Women in Stem: A Portable Mentor, Second Edition, is a comprehensive and accessible manual containing career advice, mentoring support, and professional development strategies for female scientists in the STEM fields. This updated text contains new and essential chapters on leadership and negotiation, important coverage of career management, networking, social media, communication skills, and more. The work is accompanied by a companion website that contains annotated links, a list of print and electronic resources, self-directed learning objects, frequently asked questions, and more. With an increased focus on international relevance, this comprehensive text contains shared stories and vignettes that will help women pursuing or involved in STEM careers develop the necessary professional and personal skills to overcome obstacles to advancement. Preserves the style and tone of the first edition by bringing together mentors, trainees and early-career professionals in a series of conversations about important topics related to careers in STEM fields, such as leadership, time stress, negotiation, networking, social media and more Identifies strategies that can improve career success along with stories that elucidate, engage, and inspire Companion website provides authoritative information from successful women engaged in STEM careers, including annotated links to key organizations, associations, granting agencies, teaching support materials, and more
ISBN: 9780123977755Publication Date: 2015-06-11
- More Books in STEMSearch for more books and ebooks on STEM topics. Add additional keywords in the search box at the top of the page to narrow down your results.
Voices in Health Sciences
Transgender Health and Medicine: History, Practice, Research, and the Future by
A transgender person is one whose congruent gender behavior (e.g., masculine, feminine, genderqueer) does not match the culturally assigned gender category based on their sex at birth. For example, a transgender person may behave and present as a woman despite being born with male genitalia.This book provides background on transgender history, needs, assessment, and procedures; side effects of procedures; and outcomes that all providers need to understand to treat transgender patients and relate to their particular expectations. The current etiquette basis for establishing an effective provider-patient relationship is highlighted. Pathological terms are no longer acceptable and new non-pathological terms are rapidly replacing them, because being transgender is now recognized as a natural part of diversity rather than a disease or disorder. Also included here are new theories of causation and treatment approaches for providers.The book additionally outlines current and earlier schools of thought and provides an integrated theory of transgender causation that includes genetic, epigenetic, cultural, and early learning/emergence factors and highlights research needs and expected future research topics.
ISBN: 9781440866920Publication Date: 2019-07-26
American Sirens by
The extraordinary story of an unjustly forgotten group of Black men in Pittsburgh who became the first paramedics in America, saving lives and changing the course of emergency medicine around the world Until the 1970s, if you suffered a medical crisis, your chances of survival were minimal. A 9-1-1 call might bring police or even the local funeral home. But that all changed with Freedom House EMS in Pittsburgh, a group of Black men who became America's first paramedics and set the gold standard for emergency medicine around the world, only to have their story and their legacy erased--until now. In American Sirens, acclaimed journalist and paramedic Kevin Hazzard tells the dramatic story of how a group of young, undereducated Black men forged a new frontier of healthcare. He follows a rich cast of characters that includes John Moon, an orphan who found his calling as a paramedic; Peter Safar, the Nobel Prize-nominated physician who invented CPR and realized his vision for a trained ambulance service; and Nancy Caroline, the idealistic young doctor who turned a scrappy team into an international leader. At every turn, Freedom House battled racism--from the community, the police, and the government. Their job was grueling, the rules made up as they went along, their mandate nearly impossible--and yet despite the long odds and fierce opposition, they succeeded spectacularly. Never-before revealed in full, this is a rich and troubling hidden history of the Black origins of America's paramedics, a special band of dedicated essential workers, who stand ready to serve day and night on the line between life and death for every one of us.
ISBN: 9780306926075Publication Date: 2022-09-20
Women Pioneers of Medical Research by
While most laymen could recognize Florence Nightingale as the founder of modern nursing, it's doubtful they could likewise identify Louise Pearce as one of the primary researchers in the cure for African Sleeping Sickness or Anna W. Williams as the discoverer of the diphtheria antitoxin. This book profiles 25 women who have made significant contributions to medical research, including Lady Mary Wortley Montagu, Lydia Folger Fowler, Virginia Apgar, and Rosalind Franklin, among others. Each profile includes a general introduction and covers the woman's childhood or family background, her formal education, her most valuable contributions to the field, and the important events or persons which influenced her life and career.
ISBN: 9780786458172Publication Date: 2009-11-17
Early Black American Leaders in Nursing by
In celebrating the history of the black nursing experience, the author (a RN and EdD) relates the role model-worthy biographies of three Nursing Hall of Fame women: Mary Eliza Mahoney, Martha Minerva Franklin, and Adah Belle Samuels Thoms. Includes substantial appendices on the National Association
ISBN: 9780763710095Publication Date: 1999-03-11
- See More Books on Health SciencesSearch for more books and ebooks in the Health Sciences. Add additional keywords in the search box at the top of the page to narrow down your results.
Voices in Academia
Indigenizing Education by
Indigenizing Education: Transformative Research, Theories, and Praxis brings various scholars, educators, and community voices together in ways that reimagines and recenters learning processes that embody Indigenous education rooted in critical Indigenous theories and pedagogies. The contributing scholar-educators speak to the resilience and strength embedded in Indigenous knowledges and highlight the intersection between research, theories, and praxis in Indigenous education. Each of the contributors share ways they engaged in transformative praxis by activating a critical Indigenous consciousness with diverse Indigenous youth, educators, families, and community members. The authors provide pathways to reconceptualize and sustain goals to activate agency, social change, and advocacy with and for Indigenous peoples as they enact sovereignty, self-education, and Native nation-building. The chapters are organized across four sections, entitled Indigenizing Curriculum and Pedagogy, Revitalizing and Sustaining Indigenous Languages, Engaging Families and Communities in Indigenous Education, and Indigenizing Teaching and Teacher Education. Across the chapters, you will observe dialogues between the scholar-educators as they enacted various theories, shared stories, indigenized various curriculum and teaching practices, and reflected on the process of engaging in critical dialogues that generates a (re)new(ed) spirit of hope and commitment to intellectual and spiritual sovereignty. The book makes significant contributions to the fields of critical Indigenous studies, critical and culturally sustaining pedagogy, and decolonization.
ISBN: 9781648026911Publication Date: 2022-04-01
Black Men in the Academy by
Using an anti-deficit approach, Black Men in the Academy explores narratives of resiliency, success, and achievement for black men in the academy. This book is an important text for scholars interested in promoting success in education for underrepresented minorities.
ISBN: 9781137567260Publication Date: 2015-11-03
Women in STEM in Higher Education by
This open access book addresses challenges related to women in STEM in higher education, presenting research, experiences, studies, and good practices associated with the engagement, access, and retention of women in the STEM disciplines. It also discusses strategies implemented by universities and policymakers to reduce the existing gender gap in these areas. The chapters provide an overview of implementations in different regions of the world and provide numerous examples that can be transferred to other higher education institutions.
ISBN: 9789811915529Publication Date: 2022
Academic Knowledge Production and the Global South by
This book investigates and critically interprets the underrepresentation of the global South in global knowledge production. The author analyses the serious bias towards scholars and institutions from this region: he argues that this phenomenon causes serious disadvantages not only for authors and institutions, but global science as well by impeding the flow of fresh, innovative scholarship. This book uses a combination of field theory and world-systems analysis to explain the motives and dynamics behind the geopolitical and societal inequalities in the system of global knowledge production. Subsequently, the author offers several solutions by which these inequalities could be reduced, or even eliminated. This book will be of interest and value to scholars of knowledge inequalities, and knowledge production in the global South. Márton Demeter is Associate Professor at the National University of Public Services, Hungary, and a Bolyai Research Fellow at the Hungarian Academy of Sciences. His works have been widely published in leading periodicals such as International Journal of Communication and Journalism and Mass Communication Quarterly.
ISBN: 9783030527013Publication Date: 2020
- See More Books on AcademiaSearch for more books and ebooks on Academia. Add additional keywords in the search box at the top of the page to narrow down your results.
Feedback
This guide is a work in progress. Just as our collections grow and evolve, so will this guide! See a resource that doesn't belong? Want us to add something you don't see? Let us know!
Subjects: Other Guides
- Last Updated: Aug 28, 2024 12:50 PM
- URL: https://libguides.gvsu.edu/equity
