Geology: Home
Find articles, datasets, and more on the subject of geology
Geology at GVSU
- GVSU GeologyThe Geology department at GVSU offers a B.S. in Geology, a B.S. in dual Geology-Chemistry, and a B.S. in Earth Science. A B.S. in Geology with Environmental emphasis is also available. Visit the department website for information about courses, faculty, and upcoming events.
Finding Articles
Databases are the first place you want to look for articles. Databases usually have information about an article (such as the title, author, name of the journal or magazine the article appeared in) and sometimes they will also contain an abstract, or summary, of the article.
Databases also often have information about other types of resources too - sometimes they contain information about books, book chapters, government documents, and other things.
Some databases will also have the articles themselves (called the full text of the article). When that happens, you should see a link to an HTML or PDF document. If you do not see a link, click on 
- this will check the other library databases for the full text of the article.
Geology Databases
- GeoRefCreated by the American Geological Institute, GeoRef has over 3 million references to books, journal articles, reports, theses, maps, and more. Materials cover North America from 1669 to the present, and the rest of the world from 1933 to the present.
- AGRICOLAThe National Library of Agriculture database that searches for articles and books in all areas of agriculture, forestry and animal science. 1970-present.
- GreenFILEGreenFILE searches for information in all areas related to the human impact on the environment. Some examples of topics covered: global warming, green building, pollution, sustainable agriculture, renewable energy and recycling. Information available includes articles, government information, books, and book reviews.
- Web of ScienceWeb of Science is a multidisciplinary resource that allows you to search multiple databases at once, including: Web of Science (Core Collection), Current Contents Connect, BIOSIS Previews, MEDLINE, and Journal Citation Reports. Find journal articles, books, conference proceedings, reports, and tables of contents.
Not Finding What You Need?
- Academic Search UltimateAcademic Search Ultimate is a giant database that covers more than 10,021 journals, and full text for nearly 9,017 peer-reviewed titles. It is a comprehensive, multi-disciplinary resource of scholarly research.
- Google ScholarUse Google Scholar to search for scholarly, peer reviewed articles on any topic.
- Education SourceProvides scholarly research for education students, professionals, and policy makers. Covers all levels of education from early childhood to higher education. Covers specialties such as multilingual education, health education, and testing.
Subject Guide
Subjects: Geology
- Last Updated: Nov 14, 2024 12:38 PM
- URL: https://libguides.gvsu.edu/geology
