Japanese: Databases
Current Newspapers
- Global Newsstreamincludes newspapers from Asian Countries
- Ethnic NewsWatchnewspapers, magazines, & journals from ethnic minorities in America
- Alt-PressWatchindependent & grassroots news
Archives
- Shōshōin ArchiveThis archive contains nearly 10,000 documents from 8th century Japan that are all digitized and searchable in English and Japanese. In addition to documents and manuscripts, other material objects or 'treasures' are also searchable. These range from armor, to textiles, musical instruments, and more.
Language & Literature databases
- Linguistics and Language Behavior Abstracts (LLBA)articles about language & literature, searchable in English & Japanese
- MLA International Bibliography with Full Textarticles on languages, literature, linguistics, & folklore; searchable in English & Japanese
- Literature Criticism Onlinebiographical information about authors as well as commentary on short stories, books & plays
- Literature OnlineLiterature Online provides full-text, searchable access to a wide range of English language literary works, criticism, and reference sources. Robust searching allows users to find authors by nationality, ethnicity, movement and period.
- Literature Resource CenterLiterature Resource Center includes full text access to a wide range of sources for literary research, including peer-reviewed journal articles, book reviews, biographical and topical overview essays and poetry and short fiction from contemporary literary magazines.
Finding Articles
Databases allow you to look for articles. Databases usually have a citation (information about an article such as the title, author, name of the journal or magazine the article appeared in, volume and issue, date, and pages) and sometimes they will also contain an abstract, or summary, of the article.
Databases also often have information about other types of resources - books, essays or chapters, government documents, etc.
Some databases will also have the articles themselves (called the full text of the article). When that happens, you should see a link to an HTML or PDF document. If you do not see a link, click on 
- this will check the other library databases for the full text of the article.
General Databases
Are you having trouble finding articles? Try these more general databases.
- Academic Search Ultimatearticles on all topics
- JSTORarticles from research journals
- WorldCatUse this database to search for books, videos, plays, etc., that libraries around the world own. Use the "Get it @ GVSU" option within records to request items through document delivery.
- Last Updated: Nov 14, 2024 12:39 PM
- URL: https://libguides.gvsu.edu/japanese
