Subject Guides: REL 335: Find Basic Info

REL 335: Find Basic Info

Resources for Scriptures as Literature

Macmillan Encyclopedia of Religion
Presents a cross-cultural approach that emphasizes religion's role within everyday life and as a unique experience from culture to culture.
Encyclopedia of Religion
Edited by Eliade, Adam, & Jones. The second edition of a standard reference in the field. Presents a cross-cultural approach that emphasizes religion's role within everyday life.
Concise Oxford Dictionary of World Religions
Use the search box down the page on the left called "Search within work", not the search box at the top
Hutchinson Dictionary of World Religions
Encyclopedia of Global Religion
Articles on religion with an emphasis on issues related to globalization. Use the search box down the page called "search within encyclopedia", not the search box at the top
Critical Terms for Religious Studies
Use the search box down the page called "Search within this title", not the search box at the top
Holidays, Festivals, and Celebrations of the World Dictionary
Use the search box down the page "Search within this title", not the search box at the top
Encyclopedia of Religion and Nature
Use the search box down the page "Search within work", not the search box at the top
Routledge Encyclopedia of Religious Rites, Rituals and Festivals
Encyclopedia of New Religious Movements
Creation myths of the world

Find these resources on the second floor of the library by using their call number.

Brills Encyclopedia of Hinduism-- BL 1105 .B75 2009

Encyclopedia of African and African American Religions-- BL 2462.5 .E53 2001

Encyclopedia of Ancient Deities-- BL 473 .C67 2000

The Encyclopedia of Eastern Philosophy and Religion: Buddhism, Hinduism, Taoism, Zen-- BL 1005 .L4813 1994

Encyclopedia of Fundamentalism-- BL 238 .E63 2001

Encyclopedia of New Religious Movements-- BL 31 .E453 2005

The Encyclopedia of Taoism-- BL 1920 .E539 2008

An Illustrated Encyclopedia of Mysticism and the Mystery Religions-- BL 625 .F44 1977

The New Encyclopedia of Islam-- BP 40 .G42 2008

New Catholic Encyclopedia
Most authoritative encyclopedia for all aspects of Catholicism.
Cambridge Dictionary of Christian Theology
Use the search box down the page called "Search within this title", not the search box at the top
Who's Who in Christianity
Use the search box down the page called "Search within this title", not the search box at the top

Encyclopedia of Hinduism
Critical Terms for the Study of Buddhism
Use the search box down the page called "Search within this title", not the search box at the top
Dictionary of Hindu Lore and Legend
Use the search box down the page called "Search within this title", not the search box at the top
Dictionary of Buddhism
Use the search box down the page on the left called "Search within work", not the search box at the top
Encyclopedia of Taoism
Jainism: An Introduction
Sikhism

Encyclopedia of Islam
Both the second and [partial] third edition of this standard source are available
Encyclopaedia Islamica
Gives attention to Shiʿi Islam and its rich and diverse heritage, which makes it complementary to other encyclopedias
Oxford Encyclopedia of the Islamic World
Use the search box down the page on the left called "Search within work", not the search box at the top
Medieval Islamic Civilization: An Encyclopedia
Boils down the essence of some extremely complex events and ideas in Islamic history

Encyclopaedia Judaica
Most authoritative encyclopedia covering all aspects of Judaism.
New Encyclopedia of Judaism
Use the search box down the page called "Search within this title", not the search box at the top
Oxford Dictionary of the Jewish Religion
Use the search box down the page on the left called "Search within work", not the search box on the top
Dictionary of Jewish Lore and Legend
Use the search box down the page called "Search within this title", not the search box at the top

Subjects: Religious Studies