Communication M.S. (grad students): Articles/Databases
Finding case studies
- Try any database which seems relevant, choose additional databases to search at the same time
- Look for ways to limit Language
- Search: su("case studies") AND su(ethics) AND su(communicat*)
- Look closely at the resulting menus - document types, location/geography, database, publication date, subjects
- In Web of Science, search: "case studies" AND ethics AND communicat*
- For Advertising & Public Relations, try the WARC (World Advertising Research Center) database and click on Case Studies; the ABI/Inform database, or ProQuest Entrepreneurship with the phrase: Case studies AND Public relations (or advertising) and change the drop-down from Citation and abstract to Subject. The most recent articles will be at the top. Or click the Document Type: Case Study box with your topic words.
- In JSTOR, search "case studies" OR "case study" in the item title, AND ethics AND communicat* in full text; narrow the Item Type to Articles and Narrow by discipline and/or publication title (choose relevant discipline areas).
Primary & Empirical vs. Secondary Resources
Search tips for finding articles
- use "quotation marks" around phrases
- truncate - shorten a word to its trunk or root to get alternate endings - with an asterisk * (shift 8), e.g., truncat* finds truncate, truncated, truncation
- apply Boolean connector AND to combine unlike ideas, e.g., dance AND promotion
- apply Boolean connector OR to connect synonyms, e.g., advertisements OR campaigns
Put it all together:
- "hip hop dance" in one box
- AND (promot* OR advertis* OR campaigns) in the next box
- use parentheses in single-box searching - when you don't have another set of boxes, e.g.,:
- "hip hop dance" AND (promot* OR advertis* OR campaigns)
Use the left or right menus to narrow your results, e.g., by language, date, subject, etc.
Databases have a citation (information about an article such as the title, author, name of the journal or magazine, volume and issue (which correspond to the date), date, and pages) and sometimes they will also contain an abstract, or summary, of the article.
Databases also often cite multiple types of resources - books, essays or chapters, government documents, etc.
Some databases will also have the complete item (called the full text): you should see a link to an HTML or PDF document. Or click on - this will check the other library databases for the full text of the article.