Call Numbers for Music books

Call Numbers for CDs, scores, and books beginning with the letter M are on the 3rd floor of the Mary Idema Pew (Allendale) Library. E.g., M3.B35 2019 for the Beethoven Complete Sonatas for Pianoforte.

Place requests for items that have a location of "ASRS"!

• ML Books about music. E.g., ML410 .B42 D45 2019 for the Beethoven Complete Sonatas for Pianoforte Critical Commentary.
• MT Books about teaching music or more technical information about music

To Find Books at GVSU:

• On the Library homepage, use the search box to find "piano music" or "piano teachers" or pianists and other words like history or interpretation or analysis, or biography.
• Use separate boxes for your composer, piece title, type of piece, or other keywords.
• When searching for a type of piece, use the plural, e.g., "sonatas" or "concertos" (not concerti).You may use keywords like "piano sonatas op. 23" if you change the drop-down menu at the end of the search box to "all of these" instead of "as a phrase."

Searching for Specific Items:

• Search by COMPOSER, PERFORMER or by TITLE:
• Choose BASIC SEARCH. Click on Author (for performer) or on Title.
• Type composer's or performer's name (e.g., stravinsky igor OR ellington duke). Click on Search.

Find information about the music you're playing with the databases below, using the Search Tips for Finding Articles.

Keyword search on FJH  -- add in specific words such as hymns, Hebrew or Jewish, jazz, elementary, intermediate, theory, etc.

Call numbers are library and shelf locations. Look on the 3rd floor of Mary Idema Pew Library for: M21.J39 and M38.5  Jazz also appears in other call numbers; here's a selection:

• Jazz in Focus, Olson and McLean (M21.J39)
• Simply Jazzy, Books 1 and 2 – Goldston (M25.G64 S55 1998)
• Repertoire and Ragtime – Renfrow (MT243 .R47 1996)
• Jazzmatazz – Lee Evans (MT239.E92 J39 1987)
• Jazzy n’ cool – Hartsell (MT758.H37 J3 2001)
• Jazzed Up Classics – Olson (M32.8 .J39 2003)

M32.8  Arrangements for piano

M204 .S667 Duets

M207 ; M207.2 Piano ensembles (e.g., 4 hands)

M1378 ; M1380  Piano music, juvenile

• Repertoire Collections - Applause Books 1 and 2, The Romantic Era
• Preludes, Rollin
• Sound Reflections, Pearce
• Preludes and Bagatelles, Vandall
• Sonatinas
• Solo Sheets of composers from the FJH Music Company – Tim Brown, Kevin Olson, Ed McLean, Mary Leaf, Kevin Costley, David Karp, etc…

MT225  Piano studies and exercises

• Energize your fingers every day, Prep, 1, 2A
• Play your scales and chords every day 1, 2

MT243  Piano music, teaching pieces

• The Celebration Series, Royal Conservatory of Canada, Melodious Masterpieces, Masterwork Classics
• Best Traditional Etudes, Books 1 and 2 – L F Olson
• Piano Etudes, Book 1 – Frances Clark
• Beautiful Etudes, Books 1 and 2 – McArthur
• Musical Fingers, Book 1 – Summy Birchard
• Technic Syllabus for Piano Students – Elvina Truman Pearce
• Gurlitt, Op. 117 and Op. 141
• Expressive Etudes, Books 1 and 2 – Suzanne Guy
• Hanon for  the Developing Pianist
• Musical Snapshots – Mier
• Finger Painting – Alexander
• The Bean Bag Zoo, Books 1 and 2 – Rollin
• A Pirate’s Life - Garcia
• The Great Frontier – Rollin
• Expressions – Pearce
• Excursions – Pearce
• Solo Flight – Pearce
• Happy Time – Tansman
• Simply Silly – Olson
• My World in Motion – Greenleaf
• 24 Expressions – Schultz
• On the Other Hand - Poe
• 24 Pieces for Children – Kabalevsky
• Pop Goes the Piano – Olson
• Simply Jazzy, Books 1 and 2 – Goldston
• Repertoire and Ragtime – Renfrow
• Jazzmatazz – Lee Evans
• Jazzy n’cool – Hartsell
• Jazzed Up Classics - Olson

MT746 - MT746.3  Piano methods, juvenile

• Succeeding at the Piano!
• And other methods

MT758.I57  FJH Pianist's curriculum (and other books, including duets)

• In Recital Series, FJH
• Contemporary Keyboard editions
• Cream of the Crop
• Five-Star Folk Duets – Alexander
• Dances for Two, books 1 and 2 – Rollin
• A razzle-dazzle Christmas – Lee Evans
• A Lexicon of Beasties – Luigi Zaninelli
• 5 duet books in the collection called, “The Beginning Pianist”
• Classics for piano duet – Books 1 and 2 – Tingley
• Star Spangled Celebration – Mier
• Eleven Clapping Duets – Peter Arnstein
• In Recital for the Advancing Pianist books

• use "quotation marks" around phrases
• truncate - with an asterisk * - truncat* finds truncate, truncated, truncation
• use AND to combine unlike ideas: dance AND promotion
• use OR to connect synonyms:  advertisements OR campaigns

Put it all together:

• "hip hop dance" in one box
• AND (promot* OR advertis* OR campaigns) in the next box
• use parentheses in single-box searching - when you don't have another set of boxes, e.g.,:
• "hip hop dance" AND (promot* OR advertis* OR campaigns)

Use the left or right menus to narrow your results, e.g., by language, date, subject, etc.

• Databases have a citation and sometimes they will also contain an abstract, or summary, of the article.
• Databases also often cite multiple types of resources - books, essays or chapters, government documents, etc.
• Some databases will also have the complete item (called the full text): you should see a link to an HTML or PDF document. Or click on - this will check other library databases for the full text.

Call Numbers for Music scores

Call Numbers for scores beginning with the letter M will be found on the 3rd floor of the Mary Idema Pew (Allendale) Library.

• M3 Collected or Complete Works (scores)
• M134 Guides to the Complete Works by composer
• M5-1490 Instrumental Music (scores)
• M1495-5000< Vocal Music (scores)

A more complete guide to Call Numbers is available from the Library of Congress. Yale provides a guide to the filing rules (the order of items on shelves).

To Find Scores (sheet music) at GVSU

Use the Library Search on any webpage.

Click on the Printed Music option in Material Type box below the search boxes. Or you could search the type of item such as score as a keyword

Use separate boxes for your composer, piece title, type of piece, or other keywords. When you put your composer's last name in the box, change the drop-down to "author" instead of any field. When searching for a type of piece, use the plural, e.g., "sonatas" or "concertos" (not concerti). You may use keywords like "piano sonatas op. 23."  You may also search for the instrument as a subject, e.g., piano.

One of the complications of searching for scores is the many ways publishers can cite the name of a piece. For example, a piano sonata could be called: "piano sonata", "sonata for piano", "sonata no. x for piano", "Klaviersonate", "Sonate fur Klavier", etc. Virtually all of these would have a "uniform title" of "Sonatas, piano ..." so using the plural of the type of piece followed by the instrument name is a good keyword phrase to use in searching.

Searching for Specific Items

In the Library search box, type names in reverse order (e.g., ellington duke). Click on Search.

Many scores are in the “Complete or Collected works” of a composer but are not listed in the Catalog. You may want to browse the shelves in the call number area of M3, and use the guides to the collected works in the call number area of ML134.

Miniature scores are at the beginning of the M's on the 3rd floor. Oversized scores are in the ASRS and must be requested through the catalog.

Call Numbers for Music recordings

CDs are on the 3rd floor of the Library before the M call number; LP (vinyl) records & DVDs are in the Automated Storage Retrieval System (click the blue Request button to retrieve them).

Place requests for items if their location is "ASRS"!

• M1-3 Collected or Complete Works
• M5-1490 Instrumental Music
• M1495-5000 Vocal Music
• ML General
• MT Teaching Music

To Find Recordings at GVSU

For LPs, from the Library's homepage, enter: gvsu lp collection and keywords such as jazz or “big band”

Or, go to Books, select Location = Mary Idema Pew – Audio, and put a/some keyword/s in the search box. This will bring back both CDs and LPs.

However, if you click "Audio music" under Material Type, you'll get all formats of music including streaming.

Use separate boxes for your composer, piece title, type of piece, or other keywords. When you put your composer's last name in the box, change the drop-down to "author" instead of keyword. When searching for a type of piece, use the plural, e.g., "sonatas" or "concertos" (not concerti). You may use phrases like "piano sonatas op. 23" with the quotation marks.

One of the complications of searching for music is the many ways publishers can cite the name of a piece. For example, a piano sonata could be called: "piano sonata", "sonata for piano", "sonata no. x for piano", "Klaviersonate", "Sonate fur Klavier", etc. Virtually all of these would have a "uniform title" of "Sonatas, piano ..." so using the plural of the type of piece followed by the instrument name is a good keyword phrase to use in searching.

Searching for Specific Items

• For popular music – search by PERFORMER or by TITLE: Click on Author (for performer) or on Title.
• Type performer's name (e.g., ellington duke). Click on Search.