Young Adult Literature: Databases
Study and Teaching of Young Adult Literature
Literature Databases
- Literature Criticism Online Literature Criticism Online includes full-text biographical and critical essays on major poets, playwrights, novelists and other writing through history and across language. Emphasis is on western authors writing in English. All materials come from the Gale Literature Criticism series.
- Literature Online Literature Online provides full-text, searchable access to a wide range of English language literary works, criticism, and reference sources. Robust searching allows users to find authors by nationality, ethnicity, movement and period.
- Literature Resource Center Literature Resource Center includes full text access to a wide range of sources for literary research, including peer-reviewed journal articles, book reviews, biographical and topical overview essays and poetry and short fiction from contemporary literary magazines.
- Play Index Indexes "30,000 plays published individually or in collections from 1949 to the present."
- Short Story Index and Retrospective Short Story Index contains detailed descriptions for almost 100,000 short stories published since 1984 in a range of magazines. Stories are searchable by fields such as genre and literary device in addition to author, title, publication and the like.
Juvenile Lit Databases
- Children`s Literature CD Has over 130,000 critical reviews of thousands of children's books, ranging from the earliest baby board books to novels and nonfiction for young adults, and an average of more than 1500 new reviews are added to the database monthly.
- International Children's Digital Library The mission of this database is "to excite and inspire the world's children to become members of the global community - children who understand the value of tolerance and respect for diverse cultures, languages and ideas -- by making the best in children's literature available online"
- Something About the Author An easy-to-use source for librarians, students and other researchers, each volume in this series provides illustrated biographical profiles of approximately 75 children's authors and artists.
- Teachingbooks.net TeachingBooks provides links to author and illustrator websites, in-studio movies, audio excerpts of book readings, lesson plans, and guides to titles on children's and young adult literature.
- TumbleBook Library TumbleBooks Library is a searchable collection of 350+ online animated and talking books for children grades K-5. Books include fiction and non-fiction with some titles in several languages. An Educators Resource section provides grade appropriate classroom online and reproducible activities which complement the books.
- Database of Award Winning Children's Literature DAWCL has over 11,000 records from 129 awards across six English-speaking countries (United States, Canada, Australia, New Zealand, England, and Ireland). -webpage
- Michigan Authors and Illustrators Information on authors and illustrators born in Michigan, who live in Michigan, or who have written books about or set in Michigan.
- Children's Library: The Internet Archive Internet Archive includes: texts, audio, moving images, and software as well as archived web pages in our collections, and provides specialized services for adaptive reading and information access for the blind and other persons with disabilities. -webpage
Book Reviews
- Book Review Digest and Retrospective Provides references to more than two million fiction and nonfiction books. Coverage is from 1905-present.
- Cambridge Companions Accessible introductions to major writers, artists, philosophers, topics and periods. All are collections of specially commissioned essays, shaped and introduced to appeal to student readers. The online collection contains over 2,200 downloadable essays.
- Choice Reviews Online Choice Reviews Online contains quality reviews of academic books, websites, and media in all subject areas.
- Library Literature & Information Science Index One of the best sources for school librarians and reading.
Education Databases
- Academic Search Ultimate Academic Search Ultimate is a giant database that covers more than 10,021 journals, and full text for nearly 9,017 peer-reviewed titles. It is a comprehensive, multi-disciplinary resource of scholarly research.
- Education Source Provides scholarly research for education students, professionals, and policy makers. Covers all levels of education from early childhood to higher education. Covers specialties such as multilingual education, health education, and testing.
- ERIC ERIC has almost 1,240,000 records as of December 2007, including journal articles, conferences, meetings, government documents, theses, dissertations, reports, audiovisual media, bibliographies, directories, books and monographs.
Subjects: Juvenile Literature
- Last Updated: Feb 13, 2025 8:59 AM
- URL: https://libguides.gvsu.edu/youngadult
