- University Libraries
- Subject Guides
- WRT 120/130
- Dictionaries & Encyclopedias
WRT 120/130: Dictionaries & Encyclopedias
Starting points to find background information on a topic
In addition to the online databases below, the library also has a variety of reference books at each library location (Frey, Steelcase, or the Mary Idema Pew). Reference books are things like encyclopedias, dictionaries, and style manuals. You might also find atlases, statistics, or directories. In the Mary Idema Pew library, all the reference books are located on the 1st floor of the library. At Steelcase Library, these books are located in the large reading room.
- Credo ReferenceCredo Reference features content from hundreds of reference books in a broad range of subjects.
- Gale EbooksA database of encyclopedias and reference sources within the Gale eBooks platform. For multidisciplinary research.
- Oxford English Dictionary (OED)The accepted authority on the evolution of the English language over the last millennium. It includes the meaning, history, and pronunciation of over half a million words.
- Oxford Reference OnlineTwo million digitized entries across Oxford’s Dictionaries, Companions and Encyclopedias, spanning 25 different subject areas
- Pop Culture UniverseProvides information on American and world popular culture, past and present without the bias, advertising, suggestive content, or questionable authorship of commercial or fan sites.
Subjects: Writing, Writing 120/130/150
- Last Updated: Dec 4, 2024 3:29 PM
- URL: https://libguides.gvsu.edu/WRT130
