AHS 100: Find Articles

Guide for Medical Terminology assignment

Search the Library

Find It! searches many of the library's resources at the same time. You get scholarly journal articles, books, and magazine and newspaper articles all in one place. The column on the left of the results page offers many options for narrowing your results. If you are not finding what you want with Find It!, try one of the health sciences databases or another database that may be relevant to your topic (for example, ERIC or PsycInfo).


Advanced Search

Selected Health and Medicine Databases

Need Peer-Reviewed Articles?

Many databases provide an option to limit your search to peer-reviewed articles. Look for the check box for the Peer-Reviewed limit on the main search screen of CINAHL, ProQuest Medical, and Health Reference Center. PubMed does not provide this option because almost everything in PubMed is peer-reviewed.

This method is not 100% fool-proof due to human or computer error when the article is indexed. You can use Ulrichs Web to look up the journal title and check to see if that journal has academic/scholarly content and is refereed/peer-reviewed.

(gvsu.edu/library > Find Databases> U > Ulrichs Web)

Finding Articles

Databases allow you to search for articles about your topic. They show you information about an article: the title, author, and name of the journal or magazine the article appeared in. This is called the citation. Some databases also contain an abstract, or summary, of the article.

Many databases also include the articles themselves (called the full text of the article). When that happens, you should see a link to an HTML or PDF document. If you do not see a link, click on

The yellow "Get it @GVSU" button

This will check the other library databases for the full text of the article.

Some databases also have information about other types of resources: sometimes they have information about books, book chapters, government documents, and other things.

 

Document Delivery

Can't find the article you need full-text? Order it through Document Delivery. Article requests are usually filled within 2-3 days but may occasionally take up to one week. Once articles are received, you will be notified via email that your item has been delivered electronically to your document delivery account. Log in with your regular GVSU username and password to get started!

  • Last Updated: Jul 21, 2021 2:09 PM
  • URL: https://libguides.gvsu.edu/ahs100