- University Libraries
- Subject Guides
- Allied Health Sciences
- Writing & Citing
Allied Health Sciences: Writing & Citing
This guide will help you find articles, books, websites and other resources useful for Allied Health Sciences.
Need Help?
- GVSU Writing CenterThe Writing Center supports undergraduate and graduate students. You can get one-on-one help from a Writing Consultant, and their website also has links to online resources.
- GVSU Knowledge MarketMeet with a Writing Consultant in the Mary Idema Pew Library (Allendale) or the Steelcase Library (downtown).
- GVSU Resource MarketExplore this online knowledge base to find information about writing and citing.
APA Resources (7th Edition, 2019)
Publication Manual of the American Psychological Association
The Publication Manual of the American Psychological Association, Seventh Edition is the official source for APA Style. With millions of copies sold worldwide in multiple languages, it is the style manual of choice for writers, researchers, editors, students, and educators in the social and behavioral sciences, natural sciences, nursing, communications, education, business, engineering, and other fields. Known for its authoritative, easy-to-use reference and citation system, the Publication Manual also offers guidance on choosing the headings, tables, figures, language, and tone that will result in powerful, concise, and elegant scholarly communication. It guides users through the scholarly writing process--from the ethics of authorship to reporting research through publication. The seventh edition is an indispensable resource for students and professionals to achieve excellence in writing and make an impact with their work. The seventh edition has been thoroughly revised and updated to reflect best practices in scholarly writing and publishing. All formats are in full color, with a new tabbed spiral version Improved ease of navigation, with many additional numbered sections to help users quickly locate answers to their questions Resources for students on writing and formatting annotated bibliographies, response papers, and other paper types as well as guidelines on citing course materials Dedicated chapter for new users of APA Style covering paper elements and format, including sample papers for both professional authors and student writers New chapter on journal article reporting standards that includes updates to reporting standards for quantitative research and the first-ever qualitative and mixed methods reporting standards in APA Style New chapter on bias-free language guidelines for writing about people with respect and inclusivity in areas including age, disability, gender, participation in research, race and ethnicity, sexual orientation, socioeconomic status, and intersectionality More than 100 new reference examples covering periodicals, books, audiovisual media, social media, webpages and websites, and legal resources More than 40 new sample tables and figures Expanded guidance on ethical writing and publishing practices, including how to ensure the appropriate level of citation, avoid plagiarism and self-plagiarism, and navigate the publication process Guidelines that support accessibility for all users, including simplified reference, in-text citation, and heading formats as well as additional font options
Publication Date: 7th edition, 2019
- APA Interactive TutorialLearn about how to cite sources using APA 7th edition. Created by the GVSU Libraries.
- APA Tutorials and WebinarsCreated by the APA.
The following guides include lots of examples for citing books, e-books, journal articles, internet sources, social media, and more.
Citation Generators
Citation generators automatically create a citation after you enter one or more pieces of information about the source.
- ZoteroBibZoteroBib automatically formats citations in APA, AMA, and almost 10,000 other styles. You can build a bibliography and copy and paste it into a Word document. Super easy and no account required.
- KnightCiteMaintained by the Hekman Library at Calvin University.
- bibmeLots of ads but it does include a plagiarism checker.
Using the Zotero Citation Management App
You can install the Zotero app on your computer and take advantage of many features not available in ZoteroBib--save citations and PDFs, create group folders for collaborative projects, create in-text citations and bibliographies using Word or Google Docs.
- Download ZoteroDownload the Zotero desktop app and the internet browser plugin to start using Zotero today
- Oregon State UniversityThis guide has step-by-step instructions with helpful screen-shots and videos.
- Georgia State UniversityThis guide was create by Jason Puckett, who also wrote a book about using Zotero.
- University of IllinoisThis guide includes information similar to the above guides plus how to copy your Zotero library to a USB drive for use on any device.
Zotero by
Zotero: A Guide for Librarians, Researchers, and Educators is the first book-length treatment of this powerful research tool developed by the Center for History and New Media at George Mason University (VA). This book is written for Zotero end users, librarians and teachers. Part One introduces Zotero and presents it in the context of bibliography managers and open source software, Part Two explains in detail how to use the software in research and writing, and Part Three provides information for those who teach and support Zotero, with instructional best practices, examples, support tips and advanced techniques. "Puckett draws on his deep understanding of Zotero's technology to provide clear, concise guidelines and tips for beginners and experts alike. As a bonus, he convincingly argues why you -- yes, you -- need to be using research software and why Zotero is the best choice." says Sean Takats, co-director of Zotero, Assistant Professor of History at George Mason University and Director of Research Projects at the Center for History and New Media. A perfect guidebook to a robust open access research tool that allows the user to manage all aspects of bibliographic data, Zotero: A Guide for Librarians, Researchers, and Educators is essential for librarians and teaching faculty alike. Due to the clarity of explanation and the depth of application, its usefulness extends to undergraduate and graduate students as well.
Plagiarism & Copyright
- APA Guide: Copyright and Images4-part series to help you understand if you need permission to reuse an image and how to get permission if needed.
- Sources for Copyright-Free ImagesThis file includes links to a number of resources where you can find images that are free to reuse.
Subjects: Allied Health Sciences
- Last Updated: Dec 18, 2024 11:11 AM
- URL: https://libguides.gvsu.edu/alliedhealth
