- University Libraries
- Subject Guides
- Literature
- Juvenile Literature
Literature: Juvenile Literature
A guide to literature resources at Grand Valley State University Libraries
Databases
- International Children's Digital LibraryGVSU Database, Full-text digital books from all over the world; searchable by language and age level
- Something About the AuthorGVSU Database. Provides biographical profiles of children's authors and artists. This critically acclaimed series covers more than 12,000 individuals, ranging from established award winners to authors and illustrators who are just beginning their careers. Entries typically cover: personal life, career, writings, works in progress, adaptations, additional sources
- Children's Literature CDJuvenile titles searchable by topic, age, genre, etc; includes reviews, awards, reading levels, and teaching aids
- Database of Award-Winning Children's LiteratureLists of award winners
BBYP: Books for Young People Lists
- IBBY Honor Award ListThe International Board on Books for Young Children biennial selection of outstanding, recently published books, honoring writers, illustrators and translators from IBBY member countries. Website provides a link to the list of the winners by country.)
- USBBYThe United States Board on Books for Young People (USBBY) serves as the U.S. and is the national section of the International Board on Books for Young People (IBBY).
Thematic Lists
- Books About Children with DisabilitiesBooks about children with physical, mental, and emotional disabilities. Sorted by reading level.)
- Diverse Voices50 Best Children’s Books that Celebrate Cultural and Ethnic Diversity https
- ExceptionalitiesBooks on mental and physical handicaps, illnesses, gifted and talented, death, grieving, and more.
- LGBTQ Picture BooksPicture books for children about the experience of knowing or having an LGBTQ parent, family member, or friend, as well as books for gender nonconforming kids.
- Interracial AdoptionChildren’s, middle grade, and young adult books that feature transracial adoption in some way.
- Rainbow Book ListsLGBTQ Books For Children & Teens
- YALSA’s Best of the BestExceptional YA books, listed by year.
Juvenile Lit Awards
- Aesop Prize for Excellence in Poetry for ChildrenAwarded annually, since 1992, by the Children's Folklore Section of the American Folklore Society.
- America’s Award for Children and Adult LiteratureRecognizes U.S. works of fiction, poetry, folklore, or selected non-fiction (from picture books to works for young adults) published in the previous year in English or Spanish.
- (Mildred L.) Batchelder AwardAward given to an American publisher for a children's book considered to be the most outstanding of those originally published in a foreign language in a foreign country, and translated into English and published in the United States.
- Boston Globe-Horn Book AwardPrestigious honor for children's and young adult literature in three categories: Picture Book, Fiction and Poetry, and Nonfiction.
- Caldecott MedalAwarded annually by the ALSC to the artist of the most distinguished American picture book for children.
- Carnegie and Greenway Awards("...the UK's oldest and most prestigious children's book awards. Often described by authors and illustrators as 'the one they want to win' - they are the gold standard in children's literature."
- Children’s Africana Book AwardsAward given to encourage the publication and use of accurate, balanced children's books on Africa.
- Children’s Choice AwardsThe only national book award program where the winners are selected by kids and teens of all ages.
- Ezra Jack Keats AwardPresent awards to a new writer and a new illustrator each year.
Journals
- Assembly for Literature for Adolescents (ALAN)
Assembly on Literature for Adolescents of the National Council of Teachers of English - Bookbird: A Journal of International Children's LiteratureQuarterly journal of IBBY, referred, highlighting books worldwide.
- Booklist
Delivers over 8,000 recommended-only reviews of books, audiobooks, reference sources, video, and DVD titles each year. Spotlight issues provide coverage on popular genres, topics and themes such as biography, young adult, multicultural literature, graphic novels, romance, sports... - Bulletin of the Center for Children’s Books
One of the nation's leading children's book review journals for school and public librarians.) - Children and LibrariesShowcases current scholarly research and practice in library service to children and spotlights significant activities and programs of the association.
- Children’s BookwatchBook Reviews, Book Lover Resources, Advice for Writers and Publishers.
- Children’s Literature Association Quarterly
The Children's Literature Association Quarterly publishes first-rate scholarship in children's literature studies. - Children’s Literature in Education
Children's Literature in Education covers classic and contemporary material, the highbrow and the popular, and ranges across works for infants through to material for young adults. It features fiction, poetry, drama and non-fictional material (plus studies in other media: film, TV, computer games, online works); visual narratives from picture books and comics to graphic novels - Children’s Voice
designed for readers throughout the child welfare field, including executives and administrators, program staff, frontline workers, volunteers, and board members of public and private child welfare agencies; professionals in fields related to child welfare, including educators, pediatricians, mental health practitioners, and law enforcement and juvenile justice professionals; federal, state, and local policymakers; judges and court officials; foster care and adoptive parents; and lay advocates and others who work with children, youth, and families or are concerned about the issues that affect them.) - The Horn Book Guide
Independent, opinionated, and stylish...has long been essential for everyone who cares about children's and young adult literature. - Journal of Children’s LiteratureRefereed journal of the Children’s Literature Assembly of the National Council of Teachers of English
- School Library Journal
Is the earth's biggest review source for books, multimedia and technology for children and teens - Voice of Youth Advocates (VOYA)
(VOYA), magazine is the leading library journal dedicated to the needs of young adult librarians, the advocacy of young adults, and the promotion of young adult literature and reading. Regular columns by highly-respected young adult library leaders and several feature articles appear in each issue to provide information, not only on books and reading, but also on young adult library programming, gaming, professional development, intellectual freedom, young adult author interviews and profiles, and other topics vital to librarians serving young adults.
Subjects: English
- Last Updated: Jan 9, 2025 1:27 PM
- URL: https://libguides.gvsu.edu/english-literature
