- University Libraries
- Subject Guides
- Literature
- Find Articles
Literature: Find Articles
FINDING ARTICLES
Databases allow you to search for articles about your topic. They show you information about an article: the title, author, and name of the journal or magazine the article appeared in. This is called the citation. Some databases also contain an abstract, or summary, of the article.
Many databases also include the articles themselves (called the full text of the article). When that happens, you should see a link to an HTML or PDF document. If you do not see a link, click on
this will check the other library databases for the full text of the article.
Some databases also have information about other types of resources: sometimes they have information about books, book chapters, government documents, and other things.
General Literature Databases
- Cambridge CompanionsFull-text, scholarly reviewed essay anthologies on a range of topics in literature, the classics, philosophy, culture, and religion. Best for searching on particular authors, movements, eras, and works.
Features:
• Over 600 titles and 4,000 essays
• Searchable via either tags or full content
• Links to references included - Literature Criticism OnlineFull-text biographical and critical essays on major poets, playwrights, novelists and other writing through history and across language. Emphasis is on western authors writing in English.
Features:
• Topic Finder (creates word cloud illustrations to show the popularity of subtopics on a topic search) - Literature OnlineFull-text, searchable access to a wide range of English language literary works, criticism, and reference sources.
Features:
• Robust searching allows users to find authors by nationality, ethnicity, movement, and period. - Literature Resource CenterFull-text access to peer-reviewed journal articles, book reviews, biographical essays, topical overview essays, poetry, and short fiction from contemporary literary magazines.
Features:
• Topic Finder (creates word cloud illustrations to show the popularity of subtopics on a topic search)
• Person Search (search for authors by name, gender, nationality, place of birth, era, and more)
• Works Search (search for works by title, author, century, original language, author nationality, and more) - MLA International Bibliography with Full TextArticles, books, and other scholarship related to literature, language, linguistics and folklore.
Features:
• Saves your recent searches (requires you to create an account)
• Automatic citation tool
Interdisciplinary Databases
- Arts and Humanities Citation Index (Web of Science)Journal articles in the arts and humanities. Many different subject areas covered, including: art, classics, linguistics, literature, music, poetry, and religion.
Features:
• Create citation alerts (tells you when someone cites an article)
• Citation maps (shows you who has been citing an article)
• View your search history - Humanities Abstracts and RetrospectiveAbstracts and bibliographic indexing of the most noted scholarly sources in the humanities, as well as numerous lesser-known but important specialized magazines.
Features:
• Web News (shows recent journalistic publications that match your search)
• PlumX Metrics (tracks citation, usage, and capture data for individual articles) - JSTORFull-texts of many of the core research and society published journals in economics, business, history, political science, and sociology.
Features:
• Text Analyzer (run a search by uploading a text document)
• Thesaurus (helps you find subject-specific keywords) - Project MuseIncludes disciplines primarily in the humanities and social sciences – “literature and criticism, history, the visual and performing arts, cultural studies, education, political science, gender studies and more.”
Features:
• Offers full-text journal, book, and related content from over 200 not-for-profit publishers, including many of the world's most distinguished university presses, scholarly societies, independent publishers, and academic departments
American Literature Databases
- America: History and LifeThe premier database for research on the history of the United States and Canada.
- American PeriodicalsA database of digitized images of American magazines and journals published from colonial days to the dawn of the 20th century. An excellent source of historical American magazines and journals that chronicles the development of the United States, and a key primary resource.
Features:
• Automatic citation tool
• Save your searches for later (requires you to create an account)
British Literature Databases
- Shakespeare SurveyAn annually published collection of Shakespeare criticism, his works and the different productions of his plays. Each volume is organized around a particular theme.
Features:
• The books are illustrated with a variety of Shakespearean images and production photographs
• Includes criticism published between 1948 – present
- Early English Books Online (EEBO)Contains over 130,000 English texts first published in the 15th through 17th centuries. There are more than 17 million scanned pages of original texts.
Features:
• Topical coverage varies widely and full-text searching is available in about 50% of titles
• Covers more than 30 languages from Algonquin to Welsh - Eighteenth Century Documents OnlineOver 180,000 titles published in the 18th century. Includes books, pamphlets, essays, broadsides and more. Contains images of the pages of some original texts. Includes works published in the UK during the 18th century plus thousands more from elsewhere in the world.
Features:
• Image gallery
• View chronology of items
• Find key documents
• View most popular searches
International Literature Databases
- World Folklore & Folk LifeExplores folklore holiday traditions, festivals, language, stories and fairy tales, proverbs, food traditions, and folk remedies that define our societies and our places within them. Contains mostly encyclopedic and dictionary entries on figures, but depending on your topic, original tales, multimedia, maps, and/or other miscellaneous resources are available. Articles are available on some broader topics such as “oral tradition” or “Arab folklore.”
Features:
• Related Resources (provides materials such as pictures and websites related to your current search)
• Good for a broad search of a subject, but less useful when researching specific, obscure terms/topics
- Last Updated: Nov 14, 2024 12:40 PM
- URL: https://libguides.gvsu.edu/english-literature
