- University Libraries
- Subject Guides
- HST 103: Introduction to American Civilizations
- Find Journal Articles
HST 103: Introduction to American Civilizations: Find Journal Articles
Secondary Sources
Secondary sources describe, interpret, discuss, analyze, evaluate, and interpret primary sources. Secondary sources are often published works, such as journal articles (found in databases), textbooks, documentaries, and nonfiction books. Secondary sources can also be interpretations of the significance of data sets, book or movie reviews, etc.
United States Resources
- JSTORJSTOR provides the searchable full text of the backfiles of many of the core research and academic society published journals in almost all subject areas, but its emphasis is in the humanities and social sciences. The majority of JSTOR's content is academic and peer-reviewed.
- America: History and LifeThe premier database for research on the history of the United States and Canada.
- Black Studies CenterBlack Studies Center consists of scholarly journals, commissioned overview essays by top scholars in Black Studies, historic indexes, and The Chicago Defender newspaper from 1910-1975. At the heart of Black Studies Center is Schomburg Studies on the Black Experience, consisting of essays that provide an introduction to major topics in Black Studies. Black Studies Center provides the historical full-text of one of the most influential black newspapers in the United States, The Chicago Defender. Coverage: 1900 - current.
Latin America Resources
- Historical AbstractsThe premier database for researching the history of the world (excluding the United States and Canada) from 1450 to the present.
- JSTORJSTOR provides the searchable full text of the backfiles of many of the core research and academic society published journals in almost all subject areas, but its emphasis is in the humanities and social sciences. The majority of JSTOR's content is academic and peer-reviewed.
Artstor content will be migrated to JSTOR prior to the site's retirement on August 1st, 2023. - HAPI (Hispanic American Periodicals Index)Journal and magazine articles, reviews, book citations, documents, original literary works, and other materials focused on Central and South America, Mexico, Brazil, the Caribbean basin, the United States-Mexico border region, and Hispanics/Latinos in the United States.
How to Find Journal Articles
Many databases include the full text articles. When that happens, you should see a link to an HTML or PDF document. If you do not see that link, you should see another option for finding the full text, for example: "Get it @ GVSU", "Get full text", "Check for full text", "Request from Document Delivery". Click on the link and follow the prompts. In some cases, you may need to click on the article title to see the PDF link or other options.
If you run into any issues or land on a screen that indicates you have to pay for the article, ask us for help!
- Chat (Click on the "Ask A Question" button for chat, text, and phone options)
- Document Delivery
Can't find the article online? Order it through our document delivery service. Article requests are usually filled within 2-3 days but may occasionally take up to one week. Once articles are received, you will be notified via email that your item has been delivered electronically to your document delivery account. Log in with your regular GVSU username and password to get started!
- Last Updated: Nov 14, 2024 8:20 AM
- URL: https://libguides.gvsu.edu/c.php?g=1330963
