Subject Guides: Anthropology: Databases

Anthropology: Databases

Anthropology Databases

Anthropology Plus
Anthropology Plus will help you find national and international, English and non-English journal articles and sometimes other types of documents in the fields of anthropology, archaeology, ethnology, folklore, and related fields of study, going back to the early 1800's up to the present time. Only 5 people at a time can access this information source.
AnthroSource
AnthroSource provides access to the full text of all peer-reviewed journals, newsletters, and bulletins published by the American Anthropological Association. Most materials date back to the last third of the 1900's.

Ethnographic Databases

eHRAF World Cultures
eHRAF World Cultures will help you find paragraphs in English from thousands of online books on all aspects of the cultural and social life of cultures and ethnic groups from all over the world.
Ethnographic Video Online
An online collection of classic and contemporary documentaries in the fields of anthropology, ethnography and social psychology.
This database "provides the largest, most comprehensive resource for the study of human culture and behavior – more than 750 hours and 1,000 films at completion. The collection covers every region of the world and features the work of many of the most influential documentary filmmakers of the 20th century, including interviews, previously unreleased raw footage, field notes, study guides, and more. This first release includes 594 videos totaling roughly 395 hours."

Multidisciplinary Databases

Academic Search Ultimate
Academic Search Ultimate is a giant database that covers more than 10,021 journals, and full text for nearly 9,017 peer-reviewed titles. It is a comprehensive, multi-disciplinary resource of scholarly research.
Artstor
Artstor is a digital library of approximately 300 collections composed of over 2 million images* (and growing), in the areas of art, architecture, the humanities, and social sciences with a set of tools to view, present, and manage images for research and pedagogical purposes.
In ARTstor, you may:

-browse content by collection, classification, or geography

-search content by keyword or advanced search terms (e.g., date and geographic origin)

-print and save images and related data to other hardware (e.g. CD, memory stick, hard drive)

-create groups of images for later retrieval and presentation

-save citations for images or image groups, and email or print these, as well as export them directly into EndNote, RefWorks, or a text file
JSTOR
JSTOR provides the searchable full text of the backfiles of many of the core research and academic society published journals in almost all subject areas, but its emphasis is in the humanities and social sciences. The majority of JSTOR's content is academic and peer-reviewed.
Science Direct
Find articles, books, and reference materials in all areas of science, technology and medicine. 1823-present.
Web of Science
Web of Science is a multidisciplinary resource that allows you to search multiple databases at once, including: Web of Science (Core Collection), Current Contents Connect, BIOSIS Previews, MEDLINE, and Journal Citation Reports. Find journal articles, books, conference proceedings, reports, and tables of contents.

Subjects: Anthropology

Last Updated: Nov 14, 2024 12:38 PM
URL: https://libguides.gvsu.edu/anthropology

University Libraries

More research tools:

Anthropology: Databases

Anthropology Databases

Ethnographic Databases

Multidisciplinary Databases

Contact

Social Media

Committed to Equality