- Grand Valley State University
- Subject Guides
- Anthropology
- Books and Journals
Anthropology: Books and Journals
Books
Evolution's Bite by ISBN: 9780691160535Publication Date: 2017-05-09Whether we realize it or not, we carry in our mouths the legacy of our evolution. Our teeth are like living fossils that can be studied and compared to those of our ancestors to teach us how we became human. In Evolution's Bite, noted paleoanthropologist Peter Ungar brings together for the first time cutting-edge advances in understanding human evolution and climate change with new approaches to uncovering dietary clues from fossil teeth to present a remarkable investigation into the ways that teeth--their shape, chemistry, and wear--reveal how we came to be.
Ungar describes how a tooth's "foodprints"--distinctive patterns of microscopic wear and tear--provide telltale details about what an animal actually ate in the past. These clues, combined with groundbreaking research in paleoclimatology, demonstrate how a changing climate altered the food options available to our ancestors, what Ungar calls the biospheric buffet.
When diets change, species change, and Ungar traces how diet and an unpredictable climate determined who among our ancestors was winnowed out and who survived, as well as why we transitioned from the role of forager to farmer. By sifting through the evidence--and the scars on our teeth--Ungar makes the important case for what might or might not be the most natural diet for humans.
Kindred by ISBN: 9781472937490Publication Date: 2020-08-20"Kindred is important reading not just for anyone interested in these ancient cousins of ours, but also for anyone interested in humanity."--The New York Times Book Review
In Kindred, Neanderthal expert Rebecca Wragg Sykes shoves aside the cliché of the shivering ragged figure in an icy wasteland, and reveals the Neanderthal you don't know, our ancestor who lived across vast and diverse tracts of Eurasia and survived through hundreds of thousands of years of massive climate change. This book sheds new light on where they lived, what they ate, and the increasingly complex Neanderthal culture that researchers have discovered.
The reality of 21st century Neanderthals is complex and fascinating, yet remains virtually unknown and inaccessible outside the scientific literature. Based on the author's first-hand experience at the cutting-edge of Palaeolithic research and theory, this easy-to-read but information-rich book lays out the first full picture we have of the Neanderthals, from amazing new discoveries changing our view of them forever, to the more enduring mysteries of how they lived and died, and the biggest question of them all: their relationship with modern humans.
Paleofantasy by ISBN: 9780393347920Publication Date: 2014-02-03We evolved to eat berries rather than bagels, to live in mud huts rather than condos, to sprint barefoot rather than play football--or did we? Are our bodies and brains truly at odds with modern life? Although it may seem as though we have barely had time to shed our hunter-gatherer legacy, biologist Marlene Zuk reveals that the story is not so simple. Popular theories about how our ancestors lived--and why we should emulate them--are often based on speculation, not scientific evidence. Armed with a razor-sharp wit and brilliant, eye-opening research, Zuk takes us to the cutting edge of biology to show that evolution can work much faster than was previously realized, meaning that we are not biologically the same as our caveman ancestors.
From debunking the caveman diet to unraveling gender stereotypes, Zuk delivers an engrossing analysis of widespread paleofantasies and the scientific evidence that undermines them, all the while broadening our understanding of our origins and what they can really tell us about our present and our future.
Witchcraft, Oracles and Magic among the Azande by ISBN: 9780198740292Publication Date: 1976-06-24An abridged version of the 1937 an-thropological study of the Azande of the southern Sudan, the theoretical insights of which have proven increasingly influential among both anthropologists and others.
Structural Anthropology by ISBN: 0465082300Publication Date: 1976-02-01The eighteen essays collected in this volume have been selected and ordered to give what Lévi-Strauss terms "a bird's-eye view of the problems of modern ethnology." As representative examples, these essays introduce readers to the methods of structural anthropology while affording a glimpse into the mind of one of the foremost anthropologists of our time.
The Interpretation of Cultures by ISBN: 9780465034253Publication Date: 1973-10-25In this book the most original anthropologist of his generation moved far beyond the traditional confines of his discipline to develop an important new concept of culture. This book, winner of the 1974 Sorokin Award of the American Sociological Association, helped define for an entire generation of anthropologists what their field is ultimately about.
Journals
- American Anthropologist
American Anthropologist is the flagship journal of the American Anthropological Association, published quarterly by Wiley. The "New Series" began in 1899 under an editorial board that included Franz Boas, Daniel G. Brinton, and John Wesley Powell. - American Journal of Human Biology
The American Journal of Human Biology is a peer-reviewed scientific journal covering human biology. It is the official publication of the Human Biology Association. - American Journal of Physical Anthropology
The American Journal of Physical Anthropology (AJPA) is the official journal of the American Association of Physical Anthropologists. The Journal is published monthly in three quarterly volumes. - Annual Review of AnthropologyThe Annual Review of Anthropology, in publication since 1972, covers significant developments in the subfields of anthropology, including archaeology, biological anthropology, linguistics and communicative practices, regional studies and international anthropology, and sociocultural anthropology.
- Comparative Studies in Society and HistoryComparative Studies in Society and History is a peer-reviewed academic journal published quarterly by Cambridge University Press on behalf of the Society for Comparative Study of Society and History. It was established in 1958.
- Cultural Anthropology
Cultural Anthropology publishes ethnographic writing informed by a wide array of theoretical perspectives, innovative in form and content, and focused on both traditional and emerging topics. - Current Anthropology
Established more than sixty years ago, Current Anthropology is the leading broad-based journal in the field. It seeks to publish the best theoretical and empirical research across all subfields of the discipline, ranging from the origins of the human species to the interpretation of the complexities of modern life. - Evolutionary Anthropology
Evolutionary Anthropology is a review journal of anthropology. The journal also includes reviews of relevant new books, letters to the editor, and educational material for classroom teaching on evolutionary anthropology. - Human Organization
Human Organization is the journal of the Society for Applied Anthropology and the leading peer reviewed outlet for scholarship in the applied social sciences. The journal advances SfAA's mission through publishing articles that advance, synthesize, and interpret the application of anthropological method and theory to the analysis and solution of practical problems in the contemporary world. - Journal of Human Evolution
The Journal of Human Evolution is a monthly peer-reviewed scientific journal that concentrates on publishing the highest quality papers covering all aspects of human evolution. - Language in SocietyLanguage in Society is an international journal of sociolinguistics concerned with language and discourse as aspects of social life. The journal publishes empirical articles of general theoretical, comparative or methodological interest to students and scholars in sociolinguistics, linguistic anthropology, and related fields.
Citation
The format used for anthropology papers varies, but the American Anthropological Association uses the CMS (Chicago Manual of Style).
-
Chicago Manual of Style Quick Guide
Easy to use guide for looking up bibliography and footnote formats. -
Chicago Manual of Style Online Book
The full, searchable digital version of this resource. -
Chicago Manual of style Examples for Every Format in Art History
Created by Duke University Libraries.
Here are examples and explanations of some of the other possible formats you may be asked to use.
-
American Antiquity Style
Here's a quick guide! -
Concise APA Handbook 7th Edition
Condensed e-book version. -
Citing Images
Clear examples for MLA, Chicago, APA from Colgate University Visual Resources Library. Includes examples from various sources and different types of artworks plus architecture. -
Association of Art Editors Style Guide.
Intended for authors and editors of texts on art. -
Crediting a Photo Used Online
Some helpful tips.
Using Ulrich's Web to Find Peer-Reviewed Journals
Why use Ulrich's?
- Find out if a particular journal is peer reviewed
- Find out which databases index a journal
How to use Ulrichsweb to determine if an article is in a peer-reviewed journal:
1. Ulrich's can tell you whether a journal is peer-reviewed, not individual articles (but, research articles in a peer-reviewed journal will be peer-reviewed).
2. Go to Ulrichsweb database from a GVSU link, either on a subject guide or from the database list.
3. Enter the name of the journal/magazine (not the article or author!).
4. For example, I recently found this article through PubMed database. Notice the journal title is "Pediatric Obesity" (or Pediatr Obes for short):
5. Next, go to Ulrichsweb and type in Pediatric Obesity. This is what the results look like:
6. There are 2 versions of Pediatric Obesity, print and online. In either case, there is a "refereed" symbol (red circle) next to the journal name. This means the journal is "refereed," which is another way of saying peer-reviewed.
NOTE: not every article in a peer-reviewed journal may be peer-reviewed; commentary, news and opinion pieces usually are not peer-reviewed.
- Ulrichs Web This link opens in a new windowUlrich's is a bibliographic database providing detailed, comprehensive, and authoritative information on serials published throughout the world.
Subjects: Anthropology
- Last Updated: Mar 21, 2024 10:25 AM
- URL: https://libguides.gvsu.edu/anthropology
