CIS 340 - Health Care Information Systems: Home
What is 'health informatics'?
Health Informatics defined ...
As defined by the U.S. National Library of Medicine, health informatics is the interdisciplinary study of the design, development, adoption, and application of IT-based innovations in healthcare services delivery, management, and planning.
Medical and health-care-related databases:
- CINAHL Complete This link opens in a new window This database provides access to health science literature related to nursing and allied health disciplines. In addition, it includes standards of practice and evidence-based care guidelines.
- Communication Source This link opens in a new window This comprehensive Communication Studies database offers worldwide full-text content pertaining to communication, including informatics in a range of health and medical contexts.
- ProQuest Medical Database This link opens in a new window Use this database to find medical literature covering major healthcare specialties, including nursing and allied health disciplines.
- PubMed This link opens in a new window PubMed, a service of the National Library of Medicine, is a publicly available online database of biomedical and medical journal records. It includes MEDLINE content.
Tools & Resources
- Citing Sources Style guides & examples for bibliographies, reference lists, works cited pages.
- Evaluating Resources a guide for students on what makes good sources to include in academic papers & projects
- Document Delivery GVSU libraries will provide you books and articles from journals we do not have at no charge to you. You may have up to 20 simultaneous requests. If you find you need an entire journal issue that the library does not own, contact me to find out how best to go about that as Document Delivery is unable to obtain entire journal issues.
Newsletters - examples
- Duke Center for Health Informatics (DCHI) Publications & NewslettersDuke University (NC) has an important and extensive history in the field of informatics, beginning with the evolution of electronic health records and HL7 standards. History continues to be made with its current informatics initiatives.
- Healthcare Information and Management Systems Society (HIMSS) e-NewslettersSign up for one or more of the organizations free e-newsletters.
- HealthIT.gov NewsroomInformation and current awareness from the Office of the National Coordinator for Health Information Technology
U.S. Department of Health and Human Services.
Selected Journals available at GVSU (online)
Online Magazines & Websites - examples
- Healthcare Informatics MagazineClaims to serve as "the leading source of information for forward-thinking professionals involved in the planning, development, and implementation of important technological trends that define tomorrow’s healthcare."
- Healthcare IT NewsAbout Healthcare IT News: "the industry’s authoritative source covering the people, policy and technology driving next-generation healthcare in the U.S. For more than 12 years, it has been the voice of health IT, delivering editorial insights about compelling topics such as electronic health records, health information exchange, privacy and security, data analytics, patient engagement, population health and revenue cycle management.
- MedlinePlusUse the National Institutes of Health MedlinePlus website to learn about the latest treatments, look up information on a drug or supplement, find out the meanings of words, or view medical videos or illustrations. Also get links to the latest medical research on your topic or find out about clinical trials on a disease or condition.
Your Librarian is ...
Evaluating Resources: CRAAP Test
- CRAAP Test WorksheetA handy tool for helping to evaluate the credibility of websites and other resources -- BEFORE citing them in your research!
- Last Updated: Jan 17, 2023 9:58 AM
- URL: https://libguides.gvsu.edu/cis340