- University Libraries
- Subject Guides
- German
- Dictionaries/Encyclopedias
German: Dictionaries/Encyclopedias
Best German resources
Print sources
Find these print resources in the GVSU libraries
- Wahrig: Das grosse deutsche WörterbuchWell-known German language dictionary (no English); located at PF3625 .W2
- Der Sprach Brockhaus : deutsches BildwörterbuchUse the pictures to find what something is called in German.
- Langenscheidt new Muret-Sanders encyclopedic dictionary of the English and German languagesWell-known German-English, English-German dictionary
Online sources
- Oxford German/English DictionaryBilingual dictionary with additional study helps
- DudenHighly respected source for German words, grammar, etc.
- LEO DictionaryGerman-English, German-French, German-Spanish, etc.
- Wissen.deSearch results are listed in various categories
- Encyclopedia of German literatureUse the search box down the page that says "Search within this title", not the search box at the top
- Dictionary of languagesUse the search box down the page that says "Search within this title", not the search box at the top
- Deutsches Wörterbuch von Jacob Grimm und Wilhelm GrimmOnline version of the famous dictionary of the Brothers Grimm
- Collins German DictionaryUse the search box down the page that says "Search within this title", not the search box at the top
- Business German DictionaryUse the search box down the page that says "Search within this title", not the search box at the top
- WikiwörterbuchDas deutschsprachige Wiktionary (a wiki-based open content dictionary)
- BeolingusTranslations and sample sentences
- Pop Culture Germany! Media, Arts, and LifestyleUse the search box down the page that says "Search within this title", not the search box at the top
- Germany and the Americas: Culture, Politics, and HistoryUse the search box down the page that says "Search within this title", not the search box at the top
Subject Guide
Subjects: German, Modern Languages
- Last Updated: Nov 14, 2024 12:40 PM
- URL: https://libguides.gvsu.edu/german
