- Grand Valley State University
- Subject Guides
- Health & Medicine as Social Sciences
- Patients and Providers
Health & Medicine as Social Sciences: Patients and Providers
The duty of patients and providers
Relationships between patients and providers have a strong impact on the ability of care able to be provided to a patient. Positive outcomes cannot be seen unless both partners work together to determine the issue and then develop a plan of action both see to be most successful. This page discusses what both patients and providers can do to enhance patient care.
For Patients
- Patient Safety - World Health OrganizationPatient Safety is a growing concern across the Globe. The World Health Organization began work on improving Patient Safety in 2004 and has evolved since the inception of the World Alliance for Patient Safety. The mission of the World Health Organization is "to facilitate sustainable improvements in patient safety and managing risks to prevent patient harm."
For Providers
Physicians, particularly Family Physicians as they have the opportunity to develop long term relationships with patients, can work in multiple ways to advocate for their patients including, interpersonally, through organization, health systems, and policy. This can include shutting down any hateful speech occurring in practice areas, encouraging the improvement of community health and education through various programming, and even telling patient stories to inform the public and sway policy. (Paraphrased from Source 1)
researching medical information
- BIOSIS Previews (Web of Science) This link opens in a new windowBIOSIS Previews covers all areas of the life sciences. Search for articles, patents, meetings, and books. Use the citation maps feature to find out who has been citing an article. 1926-present.
- CINAHL Complete This link opens in a new windowThis database provides access to health science literature related to nursing and allied health disciplines. In addition, it includes standards of practice and evidence-based care guidelines.
- Google Scholar This link opens in a new windowUse Google Scholar to search for scholarly, peer reviewed articles on any topic.
- PubMed This link opens in a new windowPubMed, a service of the National Library of Medicine, is a publicly available online database of biomedical and medical journal records. It includes MEDLINE content.
- Science Direct This link opens in a new windowFind articles, books, and reference materials in all areas of science, technology and medicine. 1823-present.
- Science Reference Center This link opens in a new windowScience Reference Center contains full text for hundreds of science magazines, journals, encyclopedias, reference books and a vast collection of images.
- Last Updated: Jan 17, 2023 9:58 AM
- URL: https://libguides.gvsu.edu/healthandmedicine
